Range Rover Sport PHEV owner reviews

“The Range Rover Sport PHEV could prove to be far cheaper to run than other models in the range, and it’s more luxurious, too”

Carbuyer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Owners Rating

2.5 out of 5

33%of people would recommend this car to a friend.

Owner Rating

  • 3reviews
  • 1reviews
  • 1reviews
  • 1reviews

Common Problems

  • Brakes, Engine (1 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Other (2 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics (1 cases)
  • Electrics (1 cases)

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Evogue

Year of registration

2028

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
Well had car in November 2018, had to go back to the dealers in Christmas week as it had engine malfunction and brakes problems. Then in February 2019 went in as engine malfunction, again still there and awaiting parts the dealership who have been brill have found out that land rover won't have the part til wait for it 30th April, so car will of been in the garage for nearly 12 weeks. I am absolutely livid with land rover as they can even apologise for this issues a new vehicle yet not backlog of parts.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Hybrid

Year of registration

2019

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

60
Review
A fantastic SUV, which has never missed a beat! Most of the issues people have had seem to be preventable like charging. If your charger fuses the house then it is the charger/wiring at fault NOT the car's! Like it so much, I'm buying another new one in March 2020.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Autobiography

Year of registration

2019

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used
Review
Faults with the doors, screens, brakes from the start. Car was in the garage for two months for door alignment. Started aligning all doors including tailgate. Crunching underneath a brake pedal when braking like something is obstructing the space. Screens including main screen with alarm signs blanking for hours. Car not safe and malfunctioning. Couldn’t recommend to anyone. Not worth the money.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

16
Review
It's really all been about a lot of niggly things that you just don't expect when you pay this much for a car. I've had one major failure that turned out to be some kind of software fault leaving the car dead by completely draining the 12v system even though the car was connected to a charging point at the time. The little annoyances are almost too numerous to mention: odd braking behaviour, small lurches across the road for no apparent reason, obscure faults displayed on startup, appalling fuel efficiency in the much-vaunted Ingenium engine, front seat tipping forward on hard braking, arm rests don't adjust high enough for most normal people and loud whirring and thumping when the air suspension system is being replenished. However, the really big one, for which JLR really have no excuse - this is probably the worst infotainment system I have ever encountered. From the way it handles music, phones, navigation, climate control and just about everything else it does, it does it slowly, clunky, non-intuitive, lacking in features and generally hard to use. Add to this the fact that it takes a ridiculously long time to boot up, during which time no systems are available at all! When it finally does make itself available, it's so flaky that it regularly disables random systems like parking aids, navigation, music, etc. The only way to reset it is to switch the car off, lock it and walk away for long enough for it to completely shut down, then try again and hope it works this time. It's absolutely miserable!
Reliability

3 out of 5

Not too bad so far, but I've only had it 9 months. One breakdown that (sort of) resolved itself.
Performance

2 out of 5

Not what you'd expect from what is essentially a 300hp + 100hp power plant. The response of the petrol engine is too slow, making it hard to pull out at roundabouts, junctions and merging into motorways.
Running Cost

2 out of 5

Fuel consumption is abominable. Use this on electricity only (very short distances) or face fuel costs twice what you are used to on diesel power trains. Electric range is, at best, 20 miles.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

P400e HSE Dynamic

Year of registration

2019

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

30
Review
My dream car that I'd wanted for 10 years broke down after 7 days of delivery due to the brakes juddering, an ABS fault. The module was replaced but the car is still with the dealer as they can't get rid of the dashboard lights and the brakes still judder. That was 4 weeks ago. So far I'm paying for the car that I don't have, that's sat the dealers with just 300 miles on the clock with an RRP of £80k+. Such a shame as the car is the best looking SUV on the market but I have lost all faith in the car, brand and their customer services so I'm looking for an alternative, it's just not worth the stress. Avoid!
Reliability

1 out of 5

One of the most unreliable models and to break down after a week has completely ruined my trust in Land Rover.
Performance
When it works, it's super fast.
Running Cost

3 out of 5

EV range is very limited but you'll know that before buying, in petrol mode only the MPG is about 22mpg. In hybrid mode, in the week that I had the car, I was getting about 45mpg.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

P400e

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
I mostly use it for local journeys so only use electrical power. For longer journeys I am getting about 45mpg if the battery is fully charged. If it is discharged and I am only relying on regen then I get about 33mpg. It has been reliable so far. The only issue is if the car is hot after a long journey, the locking mechanism in the charging port sticks and the car shows a red charging fault. Leaving to cool down solves the issue.
Reliability

4 out of 5

Pretty good. There are occasional random warning on the dash which then disappear. Probably intermittent sensor faults
Performance

5 out of 5

Astonishing for such a heavy vehicle. The combine electric and ICE traction work well together.
Running Cost

4 out of 5

Fantastic - I most use electricity and charge it overnight on economy 7

Recommended

Range Rover Sport PHEV SUV review
Range Rover Sport PHEV
Range Rover Sport PHEV
27 Aug 2021

Range Rover Sport PHEV SUV review

Top 10 best hybrid SUVs 2021
Toyota C-HR Nearside
Hybrid cars
12 Aug 2021

Top 10 best hybrid SUVs 2021

Most Popular

New 2022 Toyota RAV4 Adventure revealed
Toyota RAV4 Adventure
Toyota RAV4
14 Sep 2021

New 2022 Toyota RAV4 Adventure revealed

Best new car deals 2021
Hyundai Tucson SUV front 3/4 tracking
Deals
10 Sep 2021

Best new car deals 2021

PCP deals explained – what is PCP finance?
Car dealer and customer talking
Car finance
8 Sep 2021

PCP deals explained – what is PCP finance?

Tips & advice

View All
Car dashboard warning lights: the complete guide
Car dashboard symbols and meanings
Tips and advice
10 Aug 2021

Car dashboard warning lights: the complete guide

Electric car charging stations: a complete guide
Electric car charging station
Tips and advice
3 Jun 2021

Electric car charging stations: a complete guide

PCP vs HP – which type of car finance is right for you?
PCP vs HP
Tips and advice
15 Jun 2021

PCP vs HP – which type of car finance is right for you?

Average speed cameras: how do they work?
Average speed cameras: how do they work?
Tips and advice
23 Jul 2021

Average speed cameras: how do they work?

Best cars

View All
Top 10 best car interiors 2021
Peugeot 208 hatchback
Best cars
25 Jun 2021

Top 10 best car interiors 2021

Top 10 best electric cars 2021
Volkswagen ID.3
Best cars
12 Aug 2021

Top 10 best electric cars 2021

Top 10 best cheap-to-run cars 2021
Toyota Prius front 3/4 cornering
Best cars
10 Jun 2021

Top 10 best cheap-to-run cars 2021

The UK's top 10 fastest hot hatchbacks
Mercedes AMG A45 - rear
Hot hatches
25 Jun 2021

The UK's top 10 fastest hot hatchbacks