In-depth reviews

Renault Kadjar owner reviews

“The Renault Kadjar is one of our favourite SUVs, thanks to its attractive design, practical interior and affordable running costs”

Carbuyer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Used car deals
Owners Rating

4.3 out of 5

Price
£21,080 - £30,725
82%of people would recommend this car to a friend.

Owner Rating

  • 2reviews
  • 13reviews
  • 1reviews
  • 1reviews

Common Problems

  • Electrics, Engine, Gearbox / clutch, Other (1 cases)
  • Other (2 cases)
  • Electrics, Other (2 cases)

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

1.5dci

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

55
Review
This car has been an absolute pig in the last 12 months. Motability and spend lots of time going to hospitals all over the UK. First we had a ghost on the back seat who would unbuckle their seatbelt, then the touchscreen locked...waiting for parts for these since Aug 2019 with no urgency as intermittent fault. 2 weeks ago, the heating switched off after 20 mins of any journey. Renault couldn't help until the 2nd January so basically have an immunosuppressed child sat in an ice box New Years Eve family trip to panto....soon as get on a very foggy motorway car begins to lurch...gearbox overheating warning. Pull over on freezing road with daughter and baby with no phone signal. Restart car and starts to run so brave to exit 1/2 mile away. Had any fault known to man displayed. Stop start, pollution filters, gearbox..... refused to restart until RAC disconnected and reconnected battery then started again with faults. Spent NYE waiting recovery and car now in layby outside dealers. Just wonder if lack of urgency on heater issues caused this. RAC man said were 30 faults when plugged in to port this morning from clutch to seatbelts and never seen anything like it. Seriously would never have another Renault after this.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

52
Review
Brilliant on fuel, average 52mpg on Dailly Basics use. Long trip (520 miles).. 59-60 mpg average.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Signature S

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
We purchased a Top Spec Signature S Kadjar 1.2 Petrol at the end of the 66 registration period, getting a great discount on the list price; so if shopping around for a new registration with a discount is your thing I can advise this. On a personal level I love the look of the Kadjar, different enough to be unique but recognisable enough not to dissuade. My initial trepidation was the 1.2 Turbo enhanced engine not having enough grunt to produce when required, and for sure, you're not going to be winning races off the line any time soon in this car, but that's not what it's for - I have loaded the car with my family of five, full camping gear with roof box and driven through the hills of Cornwall and back again without any problem with power distribution; this leaves to me to state the power is adequate, the delivery of the power is constant and smooth, if not enthralling or exhilarating. As striking as I found the exterior, with the full LED lights and side lighting pack, I found the interior to be a little lacklustre. Clearly laid out, practical and suitable, but nothing to stand out from the crowd. The drivers position is very good, with the electric seat very easy to adjust in order to find the most suitable driving position for each driver, though no memory store is something that could be considered in the future. The passenger seat is manually adjustable, even in the top of the range model, which i found a little bizarre, but nothing too serious. The leg room there is very ample and seats very comfortable. The same can be said for the rear seats, wide enough for two car seats and a stroppy teenager between them, all with good leg room and buckets of head room. The boot is suitable for a car of it's size, the under panel trays with the ability to compartment is a real bonus, no sliding shopping any more, very clever thinking. As for the gadgets and what you get - pretty darn good for the money. Compared to my friends Audi Q3, priced at slightly more than I paid for the Kadjar, there really is no comparison - to which she totally agrees! Auto lights/ wipers, Auto emergency brake, road sign recognition, lane departure warning, blind spot indicators, auto park, parallel/ reverse/ angled reverse, rear facing camera, bluetooth, phone, voice recognition (which understands me too!), cruise control, speed limiter, panoramic roof, TomTom SatNav the list goes on and on. The dashboard is all digital and can be changed to suite an individuals taste with information from SatNav directions to playlist display. The R-Link2 system doesn't convince me that it is as good as it could be, but it has reliable and suitable, I just feel with some more investment and out of the box thinking this has the scope to be a great system of infotainment. It is linked to the Bose sound system with speakers and boot loaded sub - producing a deep crisp sound which is a joy to listened to. The level of this stereo is not set to blow your ear drums out, so boy racers with aftermarket stereos and subs may be a little disappointed. On the road the Kadjar handles well and, as stated previously, delivers suitable punch with extreme comfort. This is not the piece de Resistance of the on road abilities; that would be the amazingly smooth double clutch Auto box in the car (which Renault finally seemed to have got to grips with), gear changes are near discernible and leave you in no doubt as the driver that right gear will be available exactly when you want it. Overall I have really fallen for this car, despite it being my Wife's pick (I wanted the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV). It is not perfect, I honestly don't think any car is, someone will always want something else, or disagree with a decision made in the design or fit out/ kit out of a vehicle. Notwithstanding; there is nothing that would make me detract a star from what has proven to be a car that delivers on it's promises (fuel economy aside - got to love how these companies manage the test figures they do!) and would wholeheartedly recommend anyone to take one for a test drive to see how it feels.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Zero problems in the first 8 months
Performance
Suitable and comfortable
Running Cost
Like any other car, the numbers do not match the pitch.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 deisel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
Very happy with it, it's good to drive, good fuel economy and it's comfortable with plenty of legroom. So pleased I'm getting a new one, an Iconic tce160 1.3 in November.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 Diesel Dynamique Sat Nav

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

47
Review
I purchased this car just over 12 months ago and have been very, very pleased with it. It looks good, very comfortable, enough power for me when I need it but with excellent mpg. Overall a very nice car The only issue I've experienced is that after my service last week my Bluetooth connection dropped off and my phone would not connect. The garage said that software update on sat nav may have caused this or it may be the phone and are sorting it out now. Does not diminish my enjoyment of this car.
Reliability

5 out of 5

NOT A SINGLE PROBLEM FOR 12 MONTHS SORTING OUT BLUETOOTH WHICH MAY BE MY PHONE
Performance
ALL THAT I, A 66 YEAR OLD REQUIRES FEELS LIKE PLENTY IN RESERVE
Running Cost

5 out of 5

EXCELLENT. i USE HALF THE FUEL THAT I USED ON MY INSIGNIA 1.8 PETROL

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.5 eco diesel signature model

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
This is the best car I have had. The engine's good, the automatic gearbox is good. Renault service at the dealership is very good too. It's extremely smooth and quiet when warmed up, I would have another one but have been tempted by the Peugeot 3008, which is a size up from the Kadjar, it probably is the time to give the Kadjar an interior facelift, it's looking a touch dated compared to the current offerings by other manufacturers.
Reliability

5 out of 5

No problems
Performance

5 out of 5

Very good mid range torque
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Very good

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Signature

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

50
Review
We have now had the car for 2 years and have been so impressed. We have the Signature edition, and find the equipment level very good, comfort and space inside is excellent, 5 adults fit with no issues. The drive position is very comfortable and the engine gives a really good performance, both acceleration and fuel consumption, on careful driving we can average 50 mpg. Boot space and boot accessibility are good and the styling of the car is very contemporary, I think is looks far better than the German box shape equivalents. Both servicing and insurance are very competitive and the reliability of the car has been outstanding with no issues whatsoever. We shall be upgrading later this year to another Kadjar, can't find anything to fault.
Reliability

5 out of 5

No issues whatsoever
Performance

5 out of 5

Reliable, good acceleration and road holding, motor driving a pleasure and copes well around town and country lanes, cannot fault this car.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Outstanding, service comes in below £200 from a main Renault dealer, fuel consumption between 46-50

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Edc auto

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

15,000 – 19,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

64
Review
Excellent car i use it locally and the odd trip to the coast. It's very comfortable and the passengers in the back all compliment the legroom compared to other cars they been in. This is my first auto, i have drove other autos like my father's Citroen C3, but this is superb with fast gear changes and a very good economy. Anyone who wants a auto please have a test drive, this car is a lot better than my 2008 SUV I sold by far.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci signature s nav edc

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

48
Review
The Kadjar is a reasonable choice of crossover SUV, on the 19" alloys the ride is slightly uncomfortable, but 17" should improve this. The main issue I have is there are many glitches/issues with the RLink2 infotainment and satellite navigation system: - Slow response of RLink2 when changing radio stations - Live traffic periodically disconnects and discards previously downloaded traffic information mid-journey and then routes you back into the traffic affected areas. - No radio text track info displayed - Intermittent DAB signal dropout. - Auto change to corresponding FM station when said DAB signal drops.. it doesn't work. - RDS Traffic Alerts do not work - Flashing message ... no map coverage for current location - Mute on handsfree call doesn't appear to work - pressing the mute button on the control stick results in the message "Mute Not Available" - Out of date satnav maps (June 2015) Renault released a dealer-only update in August 2017 (2.2.18.590) which resolves some of these issues, however, many remain and Renault appears unable/unwilling to resolve them. Because of Renault's customer service has been so poor I would not recommend it (or any other Renault)

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Signature Nav 1.5Dci, manual

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

60
Review
I've had my Renault Kadjar Signature Nav 1.5Dci for 9 months now and have to admit I'm surprised how good the car is after having a Land Rover Freelander 2. I bought the car as a pre-reg with just 10 miles on the clock (reg May 2016), for £19,999 which I consider a bargain with all the kit you get with the car and I think looks very smart in the black. Yes, I have to change gear more than I did with the Freelander, but when you're getting more than 60 to the gallon, you can't complain. I love it when I fill up and it register 740 miles until I run out. I Really like the amount of space in the boot, it seems to fit in a lot more than the Freelander. One gripe I do have and thats nothing to do with the car are the tyres.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Had no issues with reliability so far.
Performance

5 out of 5

I know I have to change down a little more with this car than I did with the Freelander, but I'll sacrifice a bit of acceleration for extra MPG any day. I reckon I'm saving about £50 month in fuel.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Still can get used to doing over 60mpg and just had its first service (as it was registered in May 2016) I paid £300 (Arnold Clark, Inverness) for a 3 year year service plan which includes its first MOT. Didn't have to pay anything on its 1st service apart from £48 to have the summer wheels/tyres put back on, plus the car came back cleaned and vacuumed.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Signature Nav TCe auto 130 EDC

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

32
Review
Good build quality, however the accessories need much much more work BEFORE they released them. SatNav is very bad I have had to disable some camera alerts due to false readings and then the car tells me to slow down even tho am stationary. the radio only gives intermittent reception. To me the accessories are all over engineered. The garage has been fabulous but not so Renault, thy've only given vague promises that the problem could get sorted with an update, but I've heard no sign of that in the coming months. Having owned 5 Renaults in the past I had expected more from them. This is the last one I will own, and am looking only after 4 months of possession am looking to replace it with a reliable car.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5DCI Diamonique

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

58
Review
This is a great car, brilliant to drive the engine is responsive when needed for overtaking, it is comfortable with plenty of room, the build quality is good with no complaints, road holding is also very good the in car entertainment is first class though I did find parts of the sat nav a little tricky to start with but okay when I got used to it

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

dynamique Nav 1.6

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

56
Review
I have the 1.6 diesel engine, which is great in the dry but finds it easy to spin the wheels in 1st and 2nd gear when the turbo cuts in. I have found the Eco mode helpful when pulling out of junctions in this respect. However, one on the move the engine is great for overtaking and rarely sounds like a diesel - even at start-up. Very comfortable to drive, good supportive seats, and lots of toys. On a run I have seen 66mpg - and it was still increasing as arrived at my destination. I have the standard 35w speakers put they put out a great sound and the bass is very good. USB ports make carrying your own music a doddle. It take s a little getting used to seeing the edges of the bonnet up by the windscreen when driving at first because it is so curvy. I have the parking sensors fitted and these help a lot, but having said that this is not a hard car to park. There is a good choice of customisation on the dash (4 choices of actual dash layout and 4 different colours). I love the ability to partition the boot floor so that shopping stays put. I have had a problem with the voice command not activating sometimes, but this appears to have sorted itself out. All my sons are very tall, one at 6ft 6", headroom front and back is not an issue at all. Overall I am really happy with the car, if I were to get another one with the same engine I might well opt for the 4x4 version. The only thing that really needs improving on is the stupid horn - which is more like an electronic tone - embarrassing!
Reliability

5 out of 5

So far - not a problem
Performance
Very good overall - although 1.5 diesel may suit most people
Running Cost

5 out of 5

56mpg average weekly mpg in very mixed conditions

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1500 dci

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

65
Review
Great car to drive comfortable loads of space back and front. With my 1.5 dCi a full tank will do 760 miles in normal driving, there's a dashboard display you can alter to your liking and eco mode you can use if you want. All in all a great car in looks and style.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 Tce Dynamique S Nav

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

32
Review
Very happy with the car just had a slight problem with the Bluetooth but sorted out quickly by garage. Very quiet and comfortable with plenty of leg room front and back. Lots of kit which makes journeys very pleasant. Chose the petrol version as only do about 7000miles per year. Full tank will give 376miles.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dCi 110 EDC auto

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

15,000 – 19,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

56
Review
I'm absolutely satisfied and happy with my purchase of new Kadjar. Very comfortable, quiet, great fuel economy. There were some problems at the very beginning but got solved very, very fast by Renault dealer (frozen radio, dashboard rattles, window whistle). On average I got 56+ MPG with my EDC 2WD. Also very practical with a lot of cubby spaces. Went on trip with 5 people and no problems at all (enough space for everyone). Very quick bluetooth pairing with mobile the R-Link system is great. Audio system is great with Bose edition.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 diesel signature

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

47
Review
OMG! It really kills me to write this, but I must. I am Range Rover, xc90, Merc &BMW man ( A badge snob). I was directed to this Renault by a friend in the trade who really rated them, I laughed in his face. WHAT! was I thinking, I fell in love with car from the first sight in the show room. I've taken it too Holland, Germany and France, plus being used as an around town car. IT'S FANTASTIC! I absolutely love it. Ok it's not as powerful as my CDI 220, but I knew that and as such do not compare. I am looking forward to exchanging and going for the new 4x4 that's coming out. Don't let the badge put you off its a great family car, cheapest large car I've ever run and lovely to drive. I have had 27 spinal operations ( this is not a disability car) the comfort is amazing. My children ( teenagers) never once bleated about being cramped in the back as they were with the CDI220 estate and our continental trip went quite smoothly. Great car.
Reliability

5 out of 5

To new to comment but no problems or complaints to date
Performance

5 out of 5

It's not Formula 1 but easily sits at 90mph on European motorways. But it's equally as happy around town. I love it
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Best ever for such a big car.

Most Popular

BMW X5 xDrive45e hybrid SUV review
BMW X5 xDrive45e hybrid SUV
16 Nov 2020

BMW X5 xDrive45e hybrid SUV review

Updated 2020 Audi SQ2 now available to order
Audi SQ2 SUV
17 Nov 2020

Updated 2020 Audi SQ2 now available to order

Ford Kuga Hybrid joins range as third electrified Kuga
Ford Kuga
17 Nov 2020

Ford Kuga Hybrid joins range as third electrified Kuga