In-depth reviews

Dacia Sandero owner reviews

"The Dacia Sandero is incredibly good value, with low running costs and great practicality – but don’t expect lavish materials or polished fit and finish"

Carbuyer Rating

3.5 out of 5

Used car deals
Owners Rating

4.0 out of 5

79%of people would recommend this car to a friend.

Owner Rating

  • 4reviews
  • 11reviews
  • 17reviews
  • 1reviews
  • 1reviews

Common Problems

  • Engine (2 cases)
  • Other (2 cases)
  • Brakes (1 cases)
  • Engine, Suspension, Other (1 cases)
  • Electrics, Other (1 cases)
  • Engine, Other (2 cases)
  • Gearbox / clutch (2 cases)

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

1 litre

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
Terrible car has a known fault of over revving and Dacia will not do anything about it.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1ltr 5dr

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

50
Review
I love this car. My only problem is the window buttons, which are placed in such a way as I need to look down whilst driving to press them. I can't wait till I can afford the next model where the buttons are on the door. I would not recommend the 2015 version.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.0SCe

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
I've only had mine a short time but it seems a very good car for the price for my personal usage. I do however have a problem with the aftersales from my local dealer: I had a radio fitted by a specialist and found that my "pre-wired" car was missing a rubber seal, and this prevents one of the door speakers from being connected. Dealer has denied such a part should be fitted.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.2

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used
Review
I bought 2 Sanderos, the basic 1.2 model to replace a Peugeot van. Both are used daily to deliver newspapers on our rural rounds. Without doubt the build/comfort/internal provision is better than expected. Now the only problem I have had is with the brake pads and discs. On one car both needed replacing at 7800 miles and on the second car I have needed to replace both at 10,100 AND 14300 miles. I know we stop/start a good deal greater than the average motorist but speeds are very low. I'm Interested to find out if other users have had similar problems. I have also bought a similar car for my daughter but without similar problems and am now on my second Duster 4x4 without any problems.
Reliability

4 out of 5

No unreliability, it starts every time, wear & tear on brakes could be an issue
Performance

4 out of 5

One your Gran would be comfortable in. Not fast, easy to drive, visibility good.
Running Cost

4 out of 5

Very reasonable

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Dacia Sandero hatchback Ambiance 1.2 16v 75 5dr

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

40
Review
Awful, I owned the car for one year from new, during this time it had nine separate faults. These included small things such as the boot lock rotating but not unlocking, the handbrake light flashing on and off when applied, to much larger things like excess play in the suspension struts, rough idle, very regular stalling and finally, worst of all, the reason I sold the car; complete loss of power randomly when accelerating. I paid extra for seven years warranty as I was planning on keeping the car for as long as possible. However, it was in and out of the garage constantly and finally after being told that the throttle body would need cleaning every two weeks, I decided to cut my losses. The final time the car was seen, I was told there was nothing wrong with it. So, I enquired if the garage would like to buy the car that apparently had nothing wrong with it; they took ages to get back to me and eventually said they would take it for around £3000. This for a car that had cost £7500 only one year and 12,000 Miles earlier. Right from the beginning when things started to go wrong with the car it became more and more apparent that the build quality was dangerous and that Dacia did not care at all, even after explaining to them about the complete loss of power and the risks if this happened pulling out of a busy junction. When I traded the car in elsewhere, I explained the faults and was told that problems like this were common with this car as an old style engine had been (somewhat unsuccessfully) brought up to today’s emission standards. Needless to say I would never buy a Dacia (or indeed a Renault due to many shared parts) again and would not recommend this car to my worst enemy.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

Ambiante 1.2 petrol

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
Bought this on a budget and apart from the first service of £139.00 for just an oil and filter change at 7600 miles(12000 miles or yearly) it has been a pleasure to use. The only small gripe I have is it is too low geared for motorway driving but then I try not to use them anyway even going from the south west to north east on mainly A and B roads this car was actually fun to drive considering it cost less than £7000 to buy new in 2015. Space in car is good as I'm over 6ft tall and my son of similar height can sit comfortably behind me. There is plenty of room in the boot for shopping and also big enough for our two dogs (one large lab/retriever one a jack russell) without them fighting for space. Overall I am very pleased with this car but only had since November 2015 and hopefully will get another in a couple of years maybe upgrading to the Logan mcv estate.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Been ok for now
Performance
This is designed as a town car and is low geared for city driving. Is ok on A and B roads but a strain on motorways.
Running Cost

4 out of 5

1st service a bit steep for 4ltrs of oil and a filter.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

1.2 Ambience

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used
Review
Dacia Sandero 1.2 Ambience, purchased in May 2015 as NEW Car! In the past one year this car was repaired five times, exhorts needed replacement, tire pressure warning light is on at all times for no reason and paint pealing off the rear bumper. I wish I newer purchased this car. I understand the meaning of a budget car but this car is a failure.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 Ambiance 16v 75

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

50
Review
Initial Review. Had the car just three weeks and done 1,000 miles in it. Absolutely zero problems with it to date. When you consider a similar sized/spec car from VW, Ford, Audi, Toyota, Peugeot, Mazda or Fiat would cost you at least Twice as much (and in some cases Three times as much). This car is a total bargain. The extra deal of getting car on low rate PCP, meant that the dealer put in a £500 cash deposit, (bringing the cost down to just £6,275), and also an extended warranty period to a full FIVE years. Marvellous. Build quality is a lot better than you would imagine. It is a very Spacious five door hatch. The suspension is a bit 'stiff' - which I prefer (do not like a soft, wallowing ride) - Road noise is a little bit higher than the other cars listed above, but is not bad enough to cope with. Engine is a bit 'gutless', but again, I am not a boy racer and prefer the engine to be tuned for economy rather than performance. Have averaged just over 50mpg on the first to tankfuls, very pleased with that. It is also the first car I have had with 'Bluetooth' which automatically hooks up to your mobile phone for 'hands free' use of your mobile - a very welcome thing to have in this day of the nasty pleeceman. Also has a USB port for my music on a stick. So far, this purchase has proved to be an excellent decision. The only thing I can really say is a negative point is the rear 60/40 split seat. Yes the seat backs can be split 60/40, but the thing is, you cannot put the backs forward without swivelling the seat base forward, and this particular model has a FIXED rear seat base !!!!!!! Thus making the 60/40 seat backs as much use as mudflaps on a tortoise. Would I recommend this car?, so far, a BIG resounding, 'You bet I would'. Only time will tell, but I will update you after 12 months.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

0.9Tce Ambiance

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

15,000 – 19,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

46
Review
Outstanding for under £7.5k- some wind noise at 60mph plus, sensible high profile tyres, high clearance, air intake very high, tough suspension, good reversing lights and bulbs look a doddle to change. When revved the engine really goes as this car has 90bhp but weighs under a ton. Problems so far to 12000 miles - rear parcel shelf catch bent, rear mud flaps worked loose.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Solid little car- nothing of note
Performance

5 out of 5

Revs freely when needed- much better than I expected.
Running Cost

4 out of 5

Can get 50mpg just about on long runs at sub 60mph speeds - not bad but my former Peugeot 206 diesel easily averaged low 60s

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci laureate

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

60
Review
We test drove the 0.9 tce and it was very impressive for such a small engine, but we were swayed by the free tax on the diesel and potential for much greater economy. The 1.5 dci actually pulls very strongly, its amazingly economical. we have had 78mpg on a steady run. there is some wind noise at high speed but it is not overly intrusive. There is plenty of room inside for family use including a decent sized boot, and the laureate has some useful toys- air con, cruise control, trip computer, sat nav etc which although substantially more expensive than the base model actually makes it a thoroughly enjoyable and practical vehicle. For the price you won't beat it when buying new,
Reliability

5 out of 5

no problems yet.
Performance

5 out of 5

It goes exceptionally well, with easy high speed cruising and quick acceleration.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

free road tax, driven carefully it gets huge mpg. excellent.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

1.0-litre

Year of registration

181

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used
Review
I bought my car in March 2018 brand new, in May of 2018 it started to rev by itself. When I brought it back to garage I was fobbed off. The garage had changed dealerships so I brought it to them, they told me it's called 'hunting' and it's a common problem at the moment. Dacia are looking into it but they say it's doing no damage to the car. Not satisfied with that to be honest, I didn't buy a brand new car for it to be revving like that.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

0.9 TCe Laureate

Year of registration

2013

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New
Review
From extensive research before purchasing, and given the relatively lowly pricetag, I knew the Sandero would be unrefined. However, much to my surprise, the reality hasn't lived down to expectation. Yes, particularly annoyingly, it thumps over potholes and in 30 mph zones vibrates on occasion. But not for a moment does it make me regret buying it despite its shortcomings. The understandable compromises commensurate with owning a budget car are not nearly as marked as I had feared. For instance, taking into account the vehicle's basically unpretentious nature I was absolutely amazed that it features cruise control and (hallelujah!) a speed limiter. Even though mine's a top-of-the-range model I didn't remotely anticipate these useful inclusions in such unashamedly humble wheels. Furthermore I wholeheartedly applaud and welcome the fact that the speedo is, unlike most of its competitors, sensibly marked 10/30/50/70. Many of the components are of course twenty-year-old Renault remnants but the advantage is that they're tried and tested and therefore unlikely to unduly cause reliability concerns. Being unsophisticated and uncomplicated means things are less likely to go wrong. On the motorway its boxy contours understably contribute to wind noise that's a tad excessive. The driver's seat is reasonably comfortable and the ride quality gets better at speed. The large cabin may be dull, but the important thing is that it all feels solidly put together The build quality equally impresses. There were 29,000 miles on the clock when it came into my possession and not a trace of squeakiness, groaning, rattles or creaks anywhere. Cavernous boot, too. The star element is the state-of-the-art turbocharged engine, which is a gem. As for some commentators' complaints about a notchy gearbox, that greatly worried me prior to acquisition but in the event I find it an endearing trait; the lever neatly and efficiently slots into place each time with no bother at all; mercifully it doesn't grind, as I thought it might. One big black mark in my opinion is the infuriating fact that Dacia don't manufacture aftermarket door protectors.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

0.9 TCe Ambiance

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New
Review
I read every Dacia Sandero review going before buying mine and I can already see the appeal. I bought it used (2 years old) with 34k on the clock and only had it 2 days so can't comment on reliability. But I like it that much that I wanted to review it. Yes there's lots and lots of hard and scratchy grey plastic inside, it's everywhere. But who in reality spends time touching the dash or other trim bit whilst driving? Also there is a notable lack of sound deadening and engine noise is prevalent. In addition almost every review I read commented negatively on the gearbox/gear change and on this I'll agree. It's awful! It's notchy and very loose and you feel like you might break it every time you change gear. However so far these are the only real "negatives" I can see and they are very much forgivable as there (to me) are so many positives. I'll list a few. Mine's the TCe engine and for a little 0.9l it really shifts, it feels just as quick as the Volvo that I had previously. The economy seems very good having driven 100 miles with only £10 of fuel put in (from almost empty) and there's still plenty left. The seats are comfortable although not amazingly supportive but coupled with the sensible high profile tyres, makes for a comfy ride. All of the switchgear/knobs including the radio feel suitably robust and easy to use. I'm 5'10" and with the driver's seat set up for me I can sit behind in comfort with a small amount of leg room to spare. 4 adults can fit easily (I haven't tried 5 yet). The boot is bigger than you might think. On test it easily swallowed 2 plane cabin size bags, a push chair, a high chair with its legs separated and 2 carrier bags of shopping. What I like most is that (in Ambiance trim) it has almost all the gadgets that you would normally use with the exception maybe of cruise control, but then there's the Laureate trim for that. But because there's a lack of modern tech it also means there's a lack of complicated electrics and thus, things that can go wrong. And as it uses tech and electrical components from the early 2000 period it should be cheap and easy to fix if it does go wrong. Speaking of which I don't see the negatives of the early 2000 under-pinnings that some have noted and it doesn't seem to adversely affect the way it drives. What really matters to me is that I paid £4700 for a 2 year old car with £20 tax per year and that returns 50 mpg around town. You will pay a lot more than that for cars with a few more gadgets. I can easily forgive its quirks and for such little money, I think it's an all-round bargain.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Can't comment, haven't owned it long enough.
Performance
Impressive performance despite poor refinement.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Excellent with the TCe petrol engine. £20 tax per year with high mpg figures.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.2 Access

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

42
Review
6 Grand. Can't argue. Comfortable roomy car, easy to get in and out of, performance adequate, doesn't mind "beck bottom roads" which are fairly common round these parts. Quiet enough at town speeds, a bit noisy at motorway speeds but doesn't mind being thrashed. Easy to wash and vacuum out, entirely fussless to drive, no problems after 5 months and 5500 miles.
Reliability

4 out of 5

No problems. But I shouldn't be having them on a fairly new car.
Performance

3 out of 5

Adequate. Keeps up on the motorway. If you want a fast car, spend a bit more.
Running Cost
Slated for being thirsty, but not my experience, manufacturers combined figures are achievable which is more than can be said for many cars.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

0.9 TCe Laureate

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
The car might feel a little old-fashioned, something like a Vauxhall Astra from the early 90s, but that's no bad thing. The tiny turbocharged engine is very willing, if you can forgive the slight turbo lag. In Laureate trim, the car wants for very little, the only extra thing I would have liked is parking sensors. There's very little to touch this car at anything like the price.
Reliability

4 out of 5

Only hiccup so far was a reluctance to restart half an hour after moving the car a few feet to open the garage door.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Ambience 1.2

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used
Review
I bought this car from new and the first day I took it home the door seals came off. I should have trusted my instinct and refused the car and asked for my money back, as I have had nothing but problems with the car since. This year the car has been repaired 3 times for loss of coolant. The first repair the car has no water in at all and the radiator had a big hole in it. The water pump was also replaced. The second time the engine warning light came on and the car lost power. The garage said it was from a previous fault. This time the car has gone in with loss of coolant again and the warning light. The garage tried to inform me that it was just an airlock. I put my foot down and disagreed arguing the case which the technician then said it is a head gasket fault. I have been onto Dacia who do not seem to care about the ongoing problems with the car. I have asked for an extended warranty on the car but this hasn't happened yet. I am still waiting.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.2 16v ambiance model

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
I took delivery of my 2015 Sandero with 'Ambiance' trim and the added option of alloy wheels at the price of £7,220. I have to say for the price this car is such good value as it comes with three-year warranty and three-year roadside RAC recovery — amazing. The 1.2 engine is no sports car and yes, it is slow off the mark but if you're just doing town driving and going to and from work In it this car is fine. If you want motorway driving then opt for the TCE engine or diesel as it will have more power to it. The inside is very spacious with good head room and fair size leg room. The interior is ok — it has got the chrome rings on the air vents and dash board dials which set it off nicely. I was very impressed with the built-in hands free kit and the Bluetooth stereo — I was amazed for a car of this price tag to have this built in to the car as this is great for taking phone calls while driving. Good-size back boot for those shopping trips. All in all great value car for a budget brand but if I get the chance again next time round I would opt for the Sandero Stepway Ambiance with the TCE engine instead of the normal 1.2 engine as I've found the 1.2 to struggle on slight hill drives and on roundabouts as well — it's just not that quick enough to nip into the traffic and it does struggle to make higher speeds on a dual carriage way. The engine gets a tad noisy the faster you push that pedal. Apart from this negative I do plan to hang on to the car for a while and the looks do look the part and very good motor for the average driver. Well worth looking at if you want to change your car for a brand new car if you have only owned second hand cars in your life. And for £6,795 without alloys, you can't go wrong with this budget brand!
Reliability
So far the reliability seems good. I've only had one day where it wouldn't start first time and then it fired up on the second go but being a brand new car, it may have been me. If there is a problem there is that 3yr warranty to go back on.
Performance
It is what it is for a budget car.
Running Cost
The tax on the 1.2 engine is £130 for the year but fuel economy doesn't add up — the brochure states 48.8mpg but I feel I don't get that in my car, and there's no way of telling what my mpg is being the 'Ambiance' version the little computer is basic and don't tell you that information. Yearly service cost is £150 — roughly standard price, depending on your dealer.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.4 Diesel

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

60
Review
Fantastic wee car. A hard worker, I drive both long and short runs. I think it is really a great car, and disagree with review, I think it can be a fun car to drive. My cars have always had to be workhorses and this model is proving to be just that. Already have three grand-daughters trying to claim it when I move on to a new one maybe next year.
Reliability

5 out of 5

No problems.
Performance

4 out of 5

Nippy but can catch you out at top end overtaking.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Exceptional MPG.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

60
Review
I took the Sandero Deisel for a test drive today and was so impressed that have placed an order for the ambiance. It makes so much sense to pay for what you need and Dacia are way ahead with their thinking. Give it another 1-2 years and these cars will be everywhere. I was in the market for a reliable, economical, smart & modern looking car which has a big enough boot, the Peugeot 208 and the fiesta and polo where my other options but the Sandero beat them all & like Dacia say, 'you do the maths'. Very happy with my choice of car & can't wait for delivery! :-) Well done and thankyou Dacia/Renault.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 diesel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
My Dacia has just passed 30,000 miles, we have used the car for long and short trips and still very pleased with it. It is used everyday at the moment, the original tyres are good and all the things the top testers have reported on have not found. So I recommend if you just want a basic car go for a Dacia.
Reliability

5 out of 5

no problems
Performance
goes well on motorways and Aroads
Running Cost

5 out of 5

very good

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

0.9 Litre Ambiance

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

47
Review
I have now owned this car for over 3 years and is one of the first sandero 2's in the UK, when full customer shipments started in early 2013. This simply is one of the best cars I have ever owned ! (I am not joking) This car really is a bargain as regards to equipment , vehicle exterior / interior dimensions. It has never failed to start, never broken down, nothing has fallen off. Its cheap to insure, service, maintain, run, gets to A to B and back in comfort. What more do you want out of a car ?. The 900cc 3 cylinder turbo is an absolute hoot to drive, once you get used to the throttle. The build quality is still holding out on this early sandero 2 which has been very good from day one, with no squeaks, leaks or rattles to this day. Much has been written about the apparent body roll on the sandero and other related models, I can report that after driving thousands of miles in this car, that body roll is not really noticeable - because I drive within the limitations of the vehicle, after all the car is not set-up as a sports car. Dacia has set-up the suspension for comfort and it does ride out road imperfections (yes including pot holes) pretty well, given the price of the vehicle. The seat comfort, ride quality and interior refinement is in line with the price of the car. Even though this car has no driver seat or steering wheel adjustment, I was still able to find a comfortable driving position very easily. Again, the useable interior boot space is incredible for the size of car, with the seats folded down, I am amazed at the amount of stuff I can pack into this car, especially for a council tip run. The interior plastics are hard, but the overall impression, is that the car is well screwed together and should last a good few years. My father was so impressed with my sandero, he bought one as well. He opted for the 1.2 Access version and was mainly attracted by the lack of electrical equipment (no electric windows, radio & central locking) - less things to fail, that cost a fortune to fix. Residuals are said to be solid on Dacias due to the initial low price, but I will be keeping mine until its scrapped, which I know, won't be for long, long time.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

0.9 Tce ambiance

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

43
Review
The car is as advertised, cheap to buy and run however I'm slightly disappointed with the fuel consumption as I can only get around 43 mpg and I'm not a "heavy footed" driver. My wife's 2010 Panda returns around 50mpg. There is plenty interior space, since owning the car we've been to Cornwall twice on holiday (5 up with all luggage inside) and the car didn't feel underpowered at all. If you are looking for a car with character look elsewhere, however if you want an inexpensive family hatchback the Sandero is well worth considering.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.2 Ambience

Year of registration

2013

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

48
Review
I test drove the Sandero Laureate TCE90 & Ambience 1200cc. The car is generally well finished, has plenty of interior space for people and luggage(who said this is a Mini?)and has features that some other cars dont have like ESB. I found the 3 cylinder engined car a bit 'lumpy'/not smooth and there was a power lag after pressing the accelerator! The 1.2 however was instant and better than I expected with plenty of pulling power. I liked it so much that I ordered the 1.2 Ambience and waiting for delivery next month - watch this space. Why pay a hell of a lot more just for a more recognisable badge or maybe because you're a snob! Well done Renault/Dacia, I reckon Ford/Vauxhall etc will have to rethink their situation very soon!

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5dci blue

Year of registration

2018

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

68
Review
This was my first Dacia, I was looking for a work car with plenty of boot room and value for money. The car has done 18000 miles to date with no issues and continues to prove what a good buy it was. We have just purchased a New Duster Tech road for my wife and can put up with the sneers and comments because the cars have more included kit than similar vehicles costing £10000 more!!
Reliability

5 out of 5

Good proven diesel engine, with Renault reliability
Performance
It is never going to be a Formula 1 race car but it does what it says on the tin, a good workhorse and reliable.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

This is a good frugal runner with reasonable service costs

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Ambiance prime 0.90

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

50
Review
Drives like a dream good turbo and very good in eco mode very lively on motorways. I have experienced no problems yet.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Starts first time
Performance
Good in eco mode and very nippy in turbo
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Low tax low insurance

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

0.9 TCE

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

48
Review
I'm still trying to see the 'catch' with the Sandero - how can it be so good for the price? We are a family of four, needing a car for daily use and occasional trips around the country and to Europe. Planning to buy a roof box when we need extra space. Size - car is really spacious compared to similar 'superminis' - doesn't feel like we've bought a small car - this was a worry as we've moved on from a Fiat Doblo. Plenty of room in boot for luggage (3 suitcases etc) for family of 4. Even fit a bike in the boot (with front wheel off) Performance - we went for the TCE as more modern engine, more power and lower fuel consumption. Drive most of the time in Eco mode which is fine, but when take this off car is very nippy - absolutely fine for motorway driving, and accelerating quickly at roundabouts. Fuel consumption is good Comfort - no problems after a 4 hour drive last weekend with family. Stereo has good volume, car is much quieter than the Doblo Customer service has been excellent so far (only one visit to garage for a rattle on bonnet) - car collected/delivered and returned spotless. Best bit is looking at similar cars which cost twice as much wondering why so many people are missing out!

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

0.9 tce laureate

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

50
Review
The dacia sandero is great value car, And with the laureate model which i have has many extras, back electric windows, cruise control , auto locking and rear parking sensors etc, and for a 898cc turbo charged engine gives it 90bhp so its very nippy, So far its been great really enjoy the drive and feel well built , Plenty of head room front and back and good size boot, The only thing ive noticed is the gear box is slightly loud on changed but apart from that im very happy with the car.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 Ambience

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
This car was bought new as the OTR price of £6,795 appealed greatly, it's roomy for a small car, has Bluetooth/CD and MP3 plug, it's comfortable , seat has no height adjustment but always get a decent position. The internal finish is hardy with lashings of tough plastics material but it's practical and in keeping with the cost, but the steering wheel has an unnecessarily cheap feel to it also being hard plastic, but again given the outlay I forgave it. The 1.2 feels pretty underpowered but given the size it's not too bad and will cruise happily at 70 to 80. Mpg reasonable and seems to always be around 45 regardless of use. The clutch is it's only let down, I've had it back to dealers who say it's fine, but I've been driving for near 40 years and I know it's not, and sometimes judders on slow release easily, other drivers who have used my car have commented on the same. Hopefully at its service next January this will be properly addressed. Boot is cavernous and I've used this car to pick friends up from airport several times problem free as the boot swallowed the luggage. To summarise I am very pleased with it so far, it really is fantastic VFM, looks fine, seats 5, reasonably economical, still smells and feels brand new, so yes I would thoroughly recommend one, it's a great second car.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

1.0 Sce Ambiance

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
At the start of ownership, this car seemed a good buy. The fuel consumption was amazing, the lack of a CD player was disappointing, but didn't seem that important on reflection. The boot size on this hatchback is good as well; it could take 3 pairs of adult-size wellies, 2 buckets, 2 rucksacks, a large bag of mixed veg and a bin liner full of assorted waterproofs all in one go. The problems started at 3800 miles – the rocker box gasket leaked oil and no replacement gasket could be acquired for seven weeks – there was then another 4 week's delay for the dealership to take the car in for repair. on this new a car I would expect parts to be available , within a week would not be unreasonable, and this was a part that was on urgent order.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 16v 75 Ambiance

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
Further to my initial review when I first purchased the car I can now give a follow up review having owned the car for 22 months. All of the things stated in my initial review are still as valid now as they were 22 months ago. The car has been 100%. Done 19k miles in it now and not a single thing has gone wrong with it, not even a blown fuse or bulb. It has started first time every time and still sounds very 'new'. Fuel economy has gone down to an average of 45mpg, but that is mainly down to my driving having got used to the vehicle. The only thing I cannot report on is how good or bad the brand is on its 5 year warranty as I haven't had to use it (and hoping not to). One thing I was impressed with was when a yellow warning light came up on the dash (initially worried when I didn't know what it was), turned out it was the car telling me my tyre pressures were low - which they were. All in all, still very pleased with the purchase and have already recommended the brand to many people. Amazing value for money.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 Ambiance

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
Absolutely love this car. It is not the best car that I have owned but it undoubtedly is the best value. I paid less than 6 grand for a pre-registered but essentially brand new 4 door car and the dealer even threw in 2 free services! I have been pleasantly surprised by just how capable this car is and nothing has gone wrong in the 6 months that I have owned it. The 1200cc engine is fine for urban driving and I really appreciate the space provided. Yes the cabin is a little cheap but I feel this adds to the charm. To put things in perspective this car has cost me approx the first year depreciation on a vw golf. If you are not worried about badge appeal and prioritise value for money (not just cheapness), I have no hesoration in recommending this car. Give it a try-you will be pleasantly surprised.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

45
Review
Just coming up to 5,000 miles and I'm very happy so far. I have taken a long trips to Darlington and Southampton from Edinburgh and it has not missed a beat - fuel economy is good. It costs around £50 to fill up and you get around 420 miles if I am going to and from work, and I got 460 on my trip down to Southampton. I got the MEDIANAV 7" touch screen with sat nav on eBay for £200 and switched it over very easily from the standard stereo. There's plenty of room for my 2 year old in the back with his car seat and hiss buggy in the boot. It's not the most powerful car - not the best getting up to speed when getting onto a motorway - but it will happily cruse at 70-80mph all day long.
Reliability

5 out of 5

So far so good
Performance

3 out of 5

Not the best
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Best car I have had

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 Laureate

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

46
Review
I'm very pleased with my Dacia Sandero Laureate, I already have 25,000 miles on board and no problems. The car does what it says - it's economical if you don't press the accelerator pedal down too much, I don't mind the plastic interior and it's comfortable to drive. I love the cruise control on the motorway, it's just what I needed. I cannot find anything to moan about it, as the car took me everywhere I needed it to with no problems. Now I will upgrade to the Duster because I want to travel around Europe - otherwise I'm very happy with Sandero.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 d

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

15,000 – 19,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used
Review
I cannot recommend the Dacia range enough. I get on average 65 mpg and have got over 1100 miles on a full tank (56 mph) The car is a Renault Clio built in I think Romania. The car is a 1.5 diesel. The engine is a work horse that works tirelessly. The range starts at £5995 for the basic model. I chose to get the Laureate version which at £9600 is superb value. It is not a BMW but I didn't spend over £20000. It is overall fantastic car made by Renault.

Most Popular

New 2020 Kia Stonic SUV: prices and specs
2020 Kia Stonic - front 3/4 view dynamic
Kia Stonic
7 Oct 2020

New 2020 Kia Stonic SUV: prices and specs

Updated Peugeot 5008 starts at £29,585
Peugeot 5008 SUV
9 Oct 2020

Updated Peugeot 5008 starts at £29,585

Cupra Formentor SUV review
Cupra Formentor SUV front 3/4 cornering
Cupra Formentor
13 Oct 2020

Cupra Formentor SUV review