Land Rover Discovery Sport owner reviews

"The Land Rover Discovery Sport is a hugely capable and surprisingly good value for money, family-friendly SUV"

Carbuyer Rating

4.0 out of 5

Used car deals
Owners Rating

2.4 out of 5

28%of people would recommend this car to a friend.

Owner Rating

  • 25reviews
  • 11reviews
  • 5reviews
  • 11reviews
  • 5reviews

Common Problems

  • Brakes, Electrics, Other (2 cases)
  • Electrics, Engine, Other (2 cases)
  • Brakes, Engine, Other (1 cases)
  • Electrics, Engine (4 cases)
  • Other (9 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Engine, Gearbox / clutch, Suspension, Other (3 cases)
  • Electrics, Other (7 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Engine, Gearbox / clutch, Suspension (1 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Suspension, Other (1 cases)
  • Engine (7 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Engine, Gearbox / clutch (1 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Engine, Gearbox / clutch, Other (2 cases)
  • Electrics, Engine, Gearbox / clutch (1 cases)
  • Electrics (1 cases)
  • Gearbox / clutch, Other (1 cases)
  • Brakes, Electrics, Engine, Other (1 cases)
  • Brakes (1 cases)
  • Brakes, Engine (1 cases)

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Diesel

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

25
Review
Worst new car I’ve ever purchased. Had problems with it from week 1. New rear brake/drive unit replaced. Constant warnings about front left tyre low pressure. SATNAV keeps defaulting to Eastern Europe. AIRCON had mind of its own Been back to dealership but nothing fixed. Final straw was when front heated windscreen only worked on right hand side. Took photos of all of these problems, including front windscreen only to be told that unless they saw the fault themselves, there was nothing they could do! That was final straw! Went out and purchased new MERCEDES GLC! Landrover? Never again!
Reliability

1 out of 5

Constant warnings on screen, never knowing which warning was genuine
Performance

3 out of 5

Can’t really complain about the performance. It did everything I asked of it. I only wish they had been better as sorting out the constant warnings
Running Cost

2 out of 5

Much more expensive than I expected. Was told that it was a stiff, new Diesel engine!

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2 l diesel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

34
Review
This vehicle is one of the worst cars I have owned, after each service it has to go back to the dealer Charles Hurst Belfast again to get the service lights turned off. Now Land Rover customer services say that my 30 travel to work each way at an average of 70 mph is not enough to rejuvenate the Diesel particulate filter (DPF). This is not what I expected from Land Rover. Their customer services say at this it needs servicing every 4000 miles but this is not what I bought this car for. "Thank you for contacting the Jaguar Land Rover Customer Experience Centre. Below is customer services response anyone any wit stay away from this product Further to our telephone conversation I can confirm the data extracted from your vehicle has been analysed and my technical team have deemed the drive cycle with your vehicle is poor thus resulting in early oil and filters charges being required. Cleaning of the exhaust filter, also known as regeneration, occurs automatically between approximately every 186 to 559 miles (300 to 900 km) depending on driving conditions, and requires the engine to reach normal operating temperature. This self-cleaning takes place when the vehicle is driven steadily at speeds between 40 mph to 70 mph (60 km/h to 112 km/h). This process normally takes 10-20 minutes. It is possible for self-cleaning to occur at lower vehicle speeds, but the process may take a little longer at a 30 mph (50 km/h) average speed. Oil Dilution occurs over time due to normal oil degradation as well as by failed Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) regeneration where the unburnt diesel that is used to perform a regeneration running down the piston bores into the engine sump.This does not occur if the DPF is allowed to complete a full regeneration without interruption, but a high number of incomplete DPF regenerations will cause a large amount of diesel to mix with the engine oil - leading to a higher than normal oil dilution, necessitating an engine oil and filter change. DPF regeneration works by injecting additional diesel into the combustion chamber (post combustion) on the exhaust stroke so that it is used to burn off the build up of soot in the DPF. When the level of soot reduces to 'normal', the injection of diesel stops. If the DPF regen cycle is interrupted (frequent short journeys), any unburnt diesel will run into the sump, diluting the oil. As a manufacturer, our obligation remains to ensure your vehicle is operating correctly and to address any manufacturing or material defects. It has been deemed there is no manufacturing concern with your vehicle. Any discussions around the contract of sale or any discussions that took place during the initial sale would need to be discussed directly with the selling retailer as I am regrettably unable to comment on this. I understand you continue to remain dissatisfied with the response, however this remains our final position and I am unable to assist further regarding this matter. Should you still remain dissatisfied, at this point I would suggest that you seek third party advice. Please be assured that should we receive any contact from a nominated third party, we will respond accordingly. As advised, this has been fully reviewed and does remain the final response of Jaguar Land Rover."

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2.0 diesel

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

30
Review
My car starting to have DPF problems. Even within extended warranty, dealer wants me to pay for DPF regeneration. DPF regeneration should automatically happen when you drive on the Motorway. The engine management has failed to give any yellow warnings about DPF and straight went to Red warning and reduced the performance of the car. This is a known problem with this car and the car has been mis-sold by JLR dealer without mentioning it! Customer services is the worst with JLR. I would avoid buying any JLR cars in future!

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

SE Tech 180 manual

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

40
Review
Purchased demonstrator six month old Land Rover approved with five year service plan. Initial problems with sat nav and rear tail light and seat rattles were fixed under warranty. I previously owned a Land Rover Freelander and the driving experience in the Discovery Sport is much improved. Fuel consumption with the ingenium engine no better than the 2.2-litre diesel Ford unit in the Freelander. Tailgate hydraulic struts were replaced under warranty after excessive noise when operating electric tailgate. There is a poor sat nav in this model, my Tom Tom was more reliable and didn't send me down narrow lanes. Parking sensors really too slow when reacting to obstacles. Rear pads and discs replaced under warranty in year three due to excessive wear and scoring of discs. Steering failed late 2018 due to failure of bolts securing the steering pump repaired under warranty but this fault might have caused a fatality to driver or other road user. Obtained goodwill payment from JLR but they would not pay for an additional years warranty and Land Rover assistance ie they didn't have much faith in their vehicle. Vehicle was sold to me as requiring 1st service at 21,000 miles but in fact the first oil change was required at about 10,000 miles due to oil dilution. I sold January 2019 due to complete loss of faith in the vehicle.
Reliability

2 out of 5

Due to steering failure when less than three years old I would have to say the vehicle was not reliable.
Performance

3 out of 5

Good to drive when everything worked.
Running Cost

3 out of 5

I had the five year service plan thank goodness as otherwise servicing would have been very expensive.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2 litre Ingenium Diesel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

38
Review
Just some highlights: 1/ Lots of safety recalls, the latest of which, P096 (for example, the letter for which I have just opened) is because a previous recall P075 , the modification was not safe. Vehicle could cut out while in motion in worst case. This is really dangerous and getting it right is simple design engineering stuff. 2/ Poor build quality. my car has suffered the squeaky rear tailgate lights (twice, the first fix was not effective), a persistent dashboard rattle which the dealer took a week to resolve (caused by loose wires behind radio area), and failure of rear view camera (still not resolved after a week at the dealer). The build quality on my vehicle is really poor. 3/ Terrible fuel consumption – nothing like the quoted figures. I get around 32mpg driving conservatively, and that's nowhere near the claimed 48mpg "combined". The ingenium engine does not sound any smoother than the "older" engine I test drove. In fact, the engine is downright noisy and the automatic gearbox is terrible especially on hills and hill starts. 4/ Because of the need for adblue, the fuel tank is tiny and I'm lucky to do over 300 miles. Adblue of course is another annoyance that needs topping up every 6-8k miles. The latest issue issue is that the diesel particulate filter is full. There was an amber dashboard light on for one or two minutes, then it turned to red, the performance was reduced and I had to be towed to the garage. I plan to get rid as soon as it's back from its (latest) visit to the garage.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

SE Tech

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

42
Review
I bought my ex-demonstrator Discovery Sport HSE 6 speed manual from a JLR dealership. It had done 1,200 miles from new but already the service mileage counter was indicating that a service would be due at less than 15,000 miles against a claimed service interval of 2 years/21,000 miles. I didn't understand the significance of this for a few days and when it dawned on me that something was wrong I contacted JLR and arranged to take the car to my local dealer. They said the car was fine although the diesel dilution counter was showing 3% and all they did was reset the service monitor and send me on my way. I had the oil tested and it was found to have 4% diesel dilution at a mileage of 4,000 and I complained to JLR who agreed to replace the oil for free under their goodwill scheme. I had planned to keep this car for several years and realised that this level of oil dilution would add significantly to the cost of ownership in oil changes alone. What was of more concern was the high level of metals, especially iron which was approaching a critical level. The dealer principal at another dealership showed me a copy of a JLR notice which said that they were aware of a significant problem with the exhaust system and that high diesel dilution would cause engine failure. After a few more weeks of driving the DPF amber full indication came on several times accompanied by an emissions system fault light which the breakdown technician thought was being caused by a sticking valve, connected with the EGR and the DPF cleaning system. When this fault recurred I immediately took the car to the dealership and engineers were sent from JLR to inspect it and make recommendations. They said that the car (by then just 6 months old) needed a new SCR filter (housing the SCR and DPF) and a new EGR cooler and valve assembly (cost about £4,000) which could be done under warranty. I decided to cut my losses and I rejected the car under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 as being "not of satisfactory quality" due to multiple exhaust faults. The supplying dealer agreed to rescind the contact and I returned the car with no financial loss. Based on this experience I decided that I will never buy another Land Rover product.
Reliability

1 out of 5

Broke down on 2 separate occasions.
Performance

2 out of 5

The 150BHP engine is not sufficient for some motorway hill climbs and I frequently needed to change down a gear.
Running Cost

1 out of 5

Higher than expected servicing costs due to the higher than expected diesel dilution.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

HSE Luxury Diesel

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

36
Review
Loved the concept, but proved to be the biggest mistake, reliability and quality were appalling, but worst of all the York dealer and Land Rover Customer services were simply awful to deal with. They have serious issues with these vehicles and these issues are now well known, but JLR just try to always deny and fob off owners. The Ingenium Diesel engine is probably the worst I have ever owned, needed oil changes every 5000 miles because oil was diluted to 7% in that time and after 12k miles balancer shafts failed. Not to mention loose trim, rattles, water leaks, fuel line faults, turbo gasket leaks, etc, etc... This car used to do two trips a day of 18 miles each way on fast roads, so should not have these issues. These faults could affect used prices, which is a double whammy for private buyers. Other JLR models using the same engine have these issues too, which includes Evoque, Discovery, Range Rover Sport and Jaguar models. Pray it happens during warranty, and then sell it – some people have had the balancer shafts fail twice!

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2.0 SE-Tech

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

40
Review
Beautiful car but amazingly unrealiable for such an expensive car. We've owned many (far cheaper) cars over the years and have never had so many problems. The car is only a year old and we've had it six months since buying it off a dealer. Since then, we've had the squeaky brakes replaced (squeaky brakes on a new car!), the air con unit rattling, software updates for media console, keyless entry not working to the point that you couldn't get in the car and had to call for roadside assistance, the seat lever not working, a rear light filling with water and various other things. This car costs a lot but is put together with cheap, second rate materials. We should have bought something cheaper, more reliable and better made.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

HSE SD4

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

44
Review
I purchased a LR Disco Sport in late summer 2016, following a relatively short test drive and having seen multiple very positive reviews in various mainstream publications. The vehicle was purchased used from a main dealer with manufacturers warranty still in place. As per the reviews the vehicle itself is fine to drive and aesthetically acceptable however my personal experience in ownership has been awful in relation to technical/mechanical faults and JLR/dealer support in resolving said issues. I have owned approx 12 vehicles in 20 years of driving from a £750 Mark 2 VW Golf up to a Maserati Granturismo and the Disco Sport is comparatively the worst vehicle I have owned of the lot when fairly accounting for its age and purchase cost. For the most direct comparison I have recently owned a 2013 VW Touareg and a 2009 Audi Q7 both of which were considerably better. The electronics in particular are both unreliable and not of an acceptable quality for a premium vehicle. The front and rear parking sensors regularly stop working, the Sat-Nav/media interface regularly either freezes or won't turn on at all. The menu interface on the dash is diabolically slow and the GUI is terrible for a premium vehicle manufactured in 2015. The built in hands free microphones are terrible making it almost impossible for a caller to hear the driver on a call. The boot has two fundamental design flaws, one being that when it rains or has standing water on it, the water pours off the back boot lid onto your head when standing under it. The second is a major design flaw (acknowledged by JLR & dealer) whereby the boot door is affixed using hinges that only have a single bolt attachment into the rear structural frame. As a result the boot door easily moves out of alignment. Since the boot also has an electronic opening mechanism this has resulted on two occasions on the boot refusing to shut at all. As an aside this issue also aesthetically unappealing as the door is clearly out of alignment at the shut lines on either side. I won't go into the detail or name names but the response on the above issues (under warranty and acknowledged manufacturer defect) has been exceptionally poor and my anecdotal viewpoint (based on conversations with service personnel( is that the dealership is overwhelmed with the number of vehicles that require attention for warranty issues and other defects. It's a real shame as I like the brand and other vehicles in their fleet but very much doubt I would now consider purchasing any other JLR vehicle based on my ownership experience to date.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

2.0 TD4 SE Tech

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

36
Review
I've had this Discovery Sport for 3 weeks. Overall I'm very impressed. I didn't want loads of gadgets so went for the SE Tech. I added roof rails myself and they look great, although needed "finishers" (I don't see why the main rails can't incorporate this into a single piece). The fuel consumption is far higher than described and I don't quite trust the ECO mode when a quick getaway at roundabouts is required. Moving from a BMW, I find that my front seat passenger has a tendency to reach for the gear dial, mistaking it for an iDrive controller. Heaven knows what the consequences might do at speed, but up the driveway it causes one heck of a jolt! The sat nav sometimes suggests the narrowest of roads, particularly in Devon when on holiday, but maybe that's the car hankering for fun! I chose the standard alloys and that's just as well, given the road potholes around. My only other small gripe, and maybe a worthwhile option, would be non-reflective glass on the inside. The aluminum and dashboard surface shines in the windscreen and causes a distraction.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Too early to say
Performance

5 out of 5

No queries
Running Cost
On the high end at the moment. Service Pack should help negate

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

Ingenium Engine

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

33
Review
Where to start? The build quality of my car is terrible, so far it has been back to the dealer on many occasions: There was a rattle under the dash which was found to be loose wires for the radio system). Two rear tailgate lights were rubbing and squeaking – I have heard lots of reports of this. The rear view parking camera failed, displaying the message "camera system failed". There's been a recall too (risk of fuel leak and fire). The fuel consumption for this new, supposedly improved Ingenium diesel engine is terrible. I drive very conservatively and get no where near the 48mpg claimed. I'm lucky to get above 30mpg.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New
Review
Car bought from Pentland Land Rover on in June 2017, a 2015 plate with 28000. I've gone back to dealer twice to repair the boot since I got it. Since I bought the car I done under 5000 miles, and the steering rack collapsed on 19/12/2019, no warranty since June. Pentland said the bill cost around £3000 and told me car should be ready before Christmas, but phoned me on 23rd, telling me no part will arrive until 5th January. Suddenly no car to travel need to pay extra £600 for renting a car last minute . Very bad Customer Service. Do not buy a land rover. This is my first one, and it'll be my last. I'm not a millionaire to keep fixing it, I'm looking for a Volvo now.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

15,000 – 19,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used
Review
Worst car I ever owned, anything and everything from day one came apart, car lacks power and control while driving, constant hollow noise in the engine. Yes it has been in the garage 16 times. Awful car, wish I'd never bought it.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

2.0 5dr

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
By far the worst car we have had. It has poor MPG, its been back to dealership at least 15 times in two years for lots of niggles. The only saving grace is that it never broke down. A bad buy and I'm looking to change.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

HSE

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
What can I say about Discovery Sport? My base reaction is that I hate it, but that’s probably unfair, I bought the wrong car, I wanted a RR Sport, but felt the Sport was a good compromise, coming out of an ML 350 I thought it was great value for money. Things on the extended test drive I didn’t like (driving position mostly), I thought I could live with if got the spec right. So I added a Black Pack, upgraded leather, panoramic roof and so on. It’s a very good looking version. However, with an annual mileage of 20-30k per annum, it just didn’t cut it, uncomfortable, underpowered and felt as if it wandered across the carriage way at speed. I’ve realised that the seat squab is too short so I have no thigh support. Within 3 months I had bought a 330GT x-drive for my weekly commute to London from Cardiff. The Sport only get used for local journeys or in bad weather, if we need to take the dogs to the beach or need to carry larger loads. I’ve had the rear discs replaced, as they were so badly pitted at 15,000 miles they were starting to flake. The electrics are a nightmare; I waited for the 2017 model with upgraded infotainment system but it just stops when it feels like it. Trim falls off inside, particularly the caps on the door handles, which have been replaced four times under warranty. The other main issue for me is that the fuel tank is ridiculously small for this type of vehicle. The dealers don’t appear to be interested in either of my JLR products (I have a Jaguar F-Type convertible too) with the problems not resolved when they come back. The electrics on the Land Rover are terrible, lights don’t come on on auto, radio just stops, air con intermittently stops working for no reason. To be honest, I have done 50k in the 330GT in 2 years, and all I’ve done to it is put tyres on it and replace the brake pads. The sad thing is it could be a great car if only the build quality was sorted and the dealer network was better. I love the Jag, so I put up with it, but the Sport has put me off JLR 4x4’s, which is a shame as I have wanted a RR since they came out in 1970 and I was 8 years old.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

HSE dynamic 240

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

39
Review
I have always thought of Land Rover as a fuddy duddy boring pack of ugly cars. That is until I saw the Discovery Sport. I love my car, it is in my opinion the best looking car on the road. It's extremely comfortable for my trips from Norfolk to Carlisle to see my son and good on fuel too. I seriously am in love with it. I have had a repair done to balance shaft due to a whistle like turbo noise but it was sorted quickly and given a like-for-like car by Land Rover UK for the duration (2 days) of the repair.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

HSE Luxury

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

39
Review
I've owned mine for 10 months and can say its been perfect. In hindsight there are a couple of annoying design flaws: The diesel tank is too small – JLR stole 15 litres (a quarter of the tank) to put in an Adblue tank and you notice the lack of capacity on long journeys. I never considered asking the size of the fuel tank. The other pain is that the rear windows don't open fully. It's fine for the driver but not so for rear passengers. Apart from that its been perfect, confident off road, smooth on road and the HSE spec has some nice touches. If ownership continues this way , i'll be a very happy first time buyer of a Disco Sport

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

SE Tech 2.0D

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

40
Review
Good and comfortable long distance cruiser with a huge boot.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Not had any issues.
Performance
178 bhp with auto transmission is very quick. Motorway cruising at 70 mph is very quiet.
Running Cost
Overall mileage is around 36.7 mpg.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

Se Tech

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

42
Review
This is my second Disco Sport - the first was a 2.2 which I bought because JLR said that the Ingenium wasn't around until well into 2016. They started selling the 2.0 a month after I took delivery in February 2015, so I feel a little deceived. I should have seen the warning bells when the electric tailgate failed after 2 months. It took almost two more months to fix. Well, with all the squeaks and rattles and failed lever mechanism (the third I've experienced in two cars), I had enough and actually didn't return my loan car until everything, I mean every squeak and rattle was fixed. Believe it or not, this took around 5-6 months, so a car that I paid a hefty premium for spent over 7 months being fixed in its lifetime (Sep 2015 car). I complained and tried to reject the car, and they told me that I couldn't due to its age and mileage (although I believe that I'm well within my rights as the original problems weren't fixed and the clock doesn't start ticking until they're fixed). The most that JLR is willing to do is give me an extended warranty, which is something, but in monetary terms, its a complete slap in the face - especially when they were offering new customers even more to entice into a new car! The dealership was appalling and effectively washing their hands and leaving me to deal with JLR, who don't listen to a word you say or look to address the questions or complaints you have. Judging by a few comments here, I'm not the only one. Everything else in terms of reliability, and quality echoes what's written above, including the fact that music playlists don't play properly rendering the infotainment system stone-age compared with other comparable cars. The parking sensors failed and required replacing, fuses keep blowing, etc. It's a shame as the packaging and design of the car is really neat. My advice is looking at the car: If anything, anything fails on the car - if within the first few months - REJECT IT, and demand a replacement . It just means that other things will go wrong in the future. Mine is a manual, and depending on how you drive, it can manage 50 mpg (with an average of 62 mph largely motorway). think the slower you drive, the more economical it is (that's how they get their figures anyway). The engine needs to loosen up to return its best fuel economy. I'd give the car itself four stars for its packaging and potential, but zero stars for the way JLR looks after its customers. I will never own a Land Rover ever again.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

HSE LUXURY BLACK

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

36
Review
This is our fifth Land Rover / Range Rover and is great for everyday school runs, taking the kids to football practice and motorway cruising. The HSE Luxury is worth the extra dosh and the Black pack adds to its style. Avoid the ivory leather if you have kids as it gets easily dirty although it does look the nicest when new. It's well equipped, comfortable, has loads of room in the front and second row, has a huge boot and is reasonably fuel efficient. All in all, a great package that could be ideal to accommodate the everyday needs of the 'typical' family. Holds its value well, too, which is a bonus if you have the means to buy the car rather than rent.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

SE Tech Auto

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

30
Review
I am one of the first owners of the Disco Sport when it was first launched and a year and half on, I can still say what a good car this is. The driving experience is comparable to an Audi A4 (as I used to own one), handling is sharp for a SUV. Practicality is great, I can just about squeeze two child seats and a booster seat in the 2nd row. The two smaller seats in the 3rd row is a bonus when needed. The boot is huge and no problem swallowing all the kids' gears! Despite some fellow owners experiencing reliability / teething issues, my Disco Sport is pretty flawless except for a minor fix to the tailgate. The only issues I have are the below-par MPG which can be explained by the old 2.2 Ford engine, and the slow-to-react automatic gearbox (but I avoid this by driving in paddle shift most of the time). I would wholeheartedly recommend this car, its versatile, practical and well made.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

2.0D SE Tech Auto

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

42
Review
The 2016 Disco sport is an outstanding car and is brilliant to drive and the 9 speed auto is excellent and very smooth. The only complaint which is a great shame is the size of the fuel tank which is ridiculously small for the size of the car and although l average 42mpg l was hoping for more!

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

SE Tech

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

34
Review
Compared to our previous Freelander, the Discovery Sport handles better and is very comfortable though it has a firm ride. Performance is ample. The auto gearbox is much better than the Freelander's. However the range on a full tank is quite limited due to a small tank. Economy is only slightly better than the Freelander. We chose the SE Tech which has auto lights & wipers, powered tailgate and Satnav. The Satnav's performance is dreadful here in Devon, it's the worst one I've ever used. It chooses tiny unclassified single track roads even if there's an A or B road close by and there's no option to prevent this. The dealer has checked it over and could find nothing set wrong. Land Rover has said that it won't investigate unless lots of customers complain. We wouldn't have chosen the SE Tech if we'd known how bad the satnav was.
Reliability
So far so good, except for the Satnav.
Performance
Very good.
Running Cost
Slightly cheaper to run than the Freelander but was expecting better mpg

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2.0 SD4 Ingenium

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

29.5
Review
The car itself is really good for a family with three young children needing car seats, it's a good looking car but beware, ours has been back to the dealer eight times within 11 months for faults, three oil services even though it's meant to be 24mnts service interval. Before you buy a Ingenium Diesel do a google search for "Oil Dilution discovery sport" for example this affects Range Rover, Range Rover Sport, Discovery, Discovery Sport, Evoque. Please do go looking we're being mis-sold Buy a petrol one if you need to.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2.0

Year of registration

2015

Bought Car

New
Review
My Discovery is the worst car I've ever owned. I tried to reject it, but unfortunately I have to keep it because of finance. Exhaust fume inside the cabin all the time, which make me sick, I spent over £5k to get rid of this issue but it's now going.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

HSE Luxury

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

32
Review
Most probably the worst car I have ever owned and I’m not sure where to start. Oil changes required every 5000 miles and 10 litres of AdBlue every 3000+\- 500. It is the most unreliable car and in the first year the wiring loom in roof disintegrated, then the first time I needed the 4x4 system, it stopped working everything disconnected with loads of messages and I was left with front wheel drive only. Next the rear discs and pads needed replacing, then the washer bottle fell apart. 3 days in total to fix it, next there was a terrible flat spot with the auto box when pulling off. Put your foot down and nothing happened during gear change. Then you had the bits that kept falling off including the black plastic panels at the bottom of the doors a really bad rattle from the drivers side pillar, the drivers side rear light filling with water they were unable to line the rear tailgate up nearly a quarter of an inch lower on one side, it looked like the car was two welded together. Finally, there is the customer service or should I say the lack of any customer service. The best day I had owning this car was the day I managed to sell it

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

2000

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
I leased my land rover and got it in March 2016 new. Up until this week I have been very fortunate not to have had any issues unlike a lot of people on this review page. This LR have informed me that there was no oil in the rear differential and that the seal has failed however I have not noticed any leaks on my drive where there car is parked. They have also informed me that an injection pipe has failed along with the injector. I have not noticed any drop in power and I regularly tow a horse trailer with two horses in and have found no problem with towing. I now have a bill for £2,100 as the warranties had lapsed, hitting me in the pocket. On a positive, the Doncaster dealership have been good only complaint is that they are not very good in calling me back. I have requested a video of the faulty items and footage of the repair being done. At time of writing I have not had this yet. On a another positive they are allowing me to pay interest free over 3 instalments as I don’t have two grand laying around. Overall I am pleased with the car and intend to renew my lease for another LR in March 2020.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Very good
Performance

4 out of 5

Very good
Running Cost

4 out of 5

With warranty and service plan a must. In 31/2 years I have had only to replace tyres overall good

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2l diesel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

39
Review
My car has suffered two catastrophic failures in the last year, each requiring breakdown recovery.There was a ruptured fuel pipe followed by electronics going mad. Nice people at the dealership, but they're selling an awful product. This will be my first and last Land Rover.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Pure Special Edition

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

38
Review
I bought a new Land Rover Discovery Sport it had 15 miles on the clock. After only 2,800 miles the engine failed on the M1 motor way, it was and dark, raining hard. The In-car "Land Rover Road Side Support Call System” did not work, I had to get off the Motorway and find accommodation for the night, not easy with two bulldogs in the boot. The car was undrivable, the Land Rover support engineer came next morning and said the bottom of the engine had failed do not even start the engine again. He called the AA to take vehicle to a dealer. The dealer in Southampton (240 miles from home) would not, or could not, supply a replacement vehicle. Despite me being sent there by Land Rover Customer Service and assured a vehicle would be ready for me. The AA then took me, the car and the two bulldogs to Salisbury, where eventually after a series of irate phone calls by the AA man, did supply another vehicle. Altogether from the car failing this took one and a half days. I don’t know what I would have done without the support of the AA man, he said they rescue more Discovery Sports than he cares to remember. He also said that the car would be with Landover for at least six weeks. It was in fact there for seven weeks. The vehicle they supplied was a top of the range Discovery with 2,000 miles on the clock, I set out for home, the weather was still very bad, when I got onto the MI the cars computer told me the tyre pressures were wrong, and the windscreen washers had no fluid. The new Discovery gearbox developed a fault in the first week on the M18 motorway and I had to call out the Land Rover Support again who came out and who said it was a software fault and had to download and install up to date soft ware (few weeks old car). They did repair it there. I did get my car back after seven+ weeks it had apparently had a new engine fuel injectors and Turbo. Though no one would tell me officially what had been wrong or what repairs or replacements had been done. There was no paperwork. The vehicle was also very dirty. Throughout the whole sad scenario Land Rover were very unhelpful just reminding me that my contract was with the dealer not them, the dealer was saying throughout that they had to wait for support from Land Rover In the end after some argument with the original dealers they bought the car back from me, though I did lose several thousand pounds. I don’t wish to make it appear that everyone was difficult, in the two dealerships and Land Rover Customer Services there were people who were sympathetic and tried to be helpful, Several members of Land Rover and dealership staff all tried to be reasonably caring and deal with the matter, but I felt they were limited by their own organisations in what they could do. I do miss having a Land Rover Discovery but after the dreadful experience I could not have had the vehicle back, or even another Land Rover with the same engine and unless you are prepared to fork out almost £20K more, that's the only engine available.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Hse lux 2.0 diesel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

37
Review
Great car! It looks great (mine has the black pack on white). Lots of luxury items like ventilated cooled or heated seats! Even heated seats in the back. Automatic lights, wipers, Gbox, screens heaters, etc. Drives well, is refined and has good visibility. It's Fast enough, economical enough and seems reliable. I've covered 12,000 miles so far and all is good. I’d recommend this car.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

HSE Lux

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used
Review
I fell in love with my car when I bought it new and now it is turning into a very horrible divorce. At 6500 miles the car simply died mid-travel, I managed to pull to the side of the road with multiple errors that the gearbox has failed, Auto Emergency Brake failure, Stability Control Failure, Park Brake Fault, HDC fault and car just didn't start again The car was towed away back to the dealer and sat there for a week with no response albeit committed to having it looked at, went on Friday afternoon and no staff available. We were offered a replacement car (not a Land Rover) for the length of time they have it (that could be six months) with penalising insurance excesses. I tried calling LR Financial Services to ask what my options were and the number on the website no longer works. Sigh. All very pleasant the people but absolutely no action or pro activity or service. Don't expect superior service from this supposedly superior brand.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

HSE Td4 7 seater

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

29
Review
This car has been a total disaster from day 1 of delivery when it was handed over with a cracked egr valve and 5th + 6th gears not selecting correctly. The car then had some sort of electrical melt down at 3 weeks old. It later had a new clutch and flywheel at 17k km, as well as various fueling issues and faulty air conditioning. There are several annoying rattles and squeaks in the cabin and a new gearbox was required at 34k km. The oil level is also constantly rising which points towards diesel entering the oil supply. It's been back to the dealer three times with this issue and all they do is change the oil.
Reliability

1 out of 5

Quantity control in JLR must not have been present when this vehicle went through production.
Performance

2 out of 5

150 BHP is very underpowered for this vehicle and the manual gear selection is quite rough but cabin ride and road noises are average.
Running Cost

1 out of 5

Averages out at a very poor 9.5 litres per 100km or 29MPG on combined driving which is 64% higher than manufacturers figures.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

2.0 (Ingenium) HSe Lux

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

37
Review
Bought as a replacement for a 2013 Freelander HSe (proper cash buyer so actually have my own money invested in the car!). Ingenium engine is much quieter and more powerful than the old engine, especially with the 8 speed auto box. Road noise is much improved. MPG is about 2mpg better than Freelander, but after recent service and software update seems to have improved a bit more. A couple of minor issues dealt with under warranty (mainly hatch not closing correctly) but has otherwise been trouble free for 21,000 mile in 11 months, including M/way, round town, off-road etc. Top of the range spec is excellent and family love the on board Wi-Fi! Far more relaxing to drive long distances than the Freelander. Only slight disappointment is the sat-nav which has several annoying aspects.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

SE TECH

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

15,000 – 19,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

34
Review
I bought the Disco Sport second-hand and had really high expectations after reading the early reviews and seeing how great it looked visually. On collection there were a few minor issues which the dealership sorted quickly, these thing happen. After a month or so I noticed an intermittent rattle in the driver B pillar but it only happened occasionally so I ignored it. It then started to happen more regularly so I called in to the dealership and took a technician out who heard the noise and reported back. I got it booked in and dealership confirmed that it was a welding issue, didn't sound great but the 1-2 week fix lead time wasn't too onerous so off it went. 2 weeks later it came back however the dealership road tested it, noise was still present so they sent it straight back. I had no reason not to think that it would be resolved so wasn't overly concerned at that stage. Approx 7 weeks (!!!) later I was informed that the car was ready so back it came. After a few days of short trips, back came the infuriating ticking sounds and this time from both pillars so back went my car to the dealer. Land Rover have issued several bulletins about this welding issue but the dealership were stumped, their Head Tech had a go at fixing it but couldn't. By this stage I had had enough and, after getting some advice decided to reject the vehicle. Cue more weeks of waiting until I had a decision from Land Rover finance who agreed to terminate the contract to my huge relief, the whole thing was a shambles but at least the finance arm dealt with things quickly and efficiently as did the dealership - not their fault that Land Rover can't seem to build cars properly. A real shame as I only had the car for a few months but my advice to anyone considering one would be to think very carefully, some owners have had no issues which is great however there are lots more out there who have had to go back to the dealership 4/5/6 times and for a car costing 35k upwards that really isn't acceptable. I've now switched to an X3 which obviously isn't as good off road but is far better built and also far more fun to drive.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

5

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

38
Review
Sadly the discovery sport suffers from poor quality build. It has many rattles and squeaks which mean endless trips back to the dealer . The most concerning of which is a tick or rattle from the b pillar, this "fix" for this is to reweld the best pillars of the car. This has affected many owners for 2 years. No new car should need structural repairs akin to accident damage Many are faced with having to reject cars as the fix carried out in a body shop doesn't even work.
Reliability

1 out of 5

Spends too much time at the dealers for issues with automatic gearbox.
Performance

1 out of 5

Needs a bigger engin sluggish and slow
Running Cost

1 out of 5

Far less than even imagined 36mpg

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

HSE LUX

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used
Review
I have had this car from new and it was one of the first ones out of the show room. It has been back 5 times and the problems persist with the entertainment system/screen. The screen freezes for whole days even if you turn the car on and off, sometime a blank screen but with the radio still on and unable to change station or turn it off. I have videos of this happening and even the technician has film it on a iPad. Ive given up taking the car back in and just except that this will happen a few times a month. The nav is not great when it's working so not much missed there. Ive also had a problem with the parking sensors which stop working but they have been fix but not the most responsive of sensors they take a while to wake up. As I was told by Land Rover "it's a early model "but it's not what you want to hear on a £45,000 car. The rest of the car has been fine and this is my third Land rover/Range rover which i have had from new and will be my last Dave

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

2.0 TD4 180 SE Tech 5dr Auto

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

50
Review
I have really enjoyed driving this car. It has great road handling and very quiet engine to the point that most people don't realise it is a diesel. It's off road capability is also excellent, we were the only people (including other SUVs) to drive out of our car park area in Glastonbury without needing a tractor to tow us. The sat nav is quirky taking us down a lot of country lanes but that does cut out a lot of the traffic. The standard music system is also excellent. My only criticism is the restricted view for rear parking can be difficult and would recommend paying for the rear camera as an extra.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New
Review
Bought this car with very low mileage. No issues until it was 2.5 years old, 33000 miles. Then warning lights kept coming up, low water coolant, oil level low, service required. This was over a period of 2 weeks, I contacted dealer, brought the car in and kept getting told it was fine. Car then suddenly failed on me driving on dual carriageway. Needed towing away. New engine required, took 5 weeks of repairs. Luckily it was under warranty as the bill was 5k plus.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

SE Tech

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

40
Review
This is an unbearable car, I've had five major issues in five months. In total, I have owned the car for 3+ years and I'm badly regretting my decision. Far too many issues related to one thing or the other and all get blamed on short journeys by dealership and JLR. Off course they dont blame themselves or making such a car that can't handle typical short journeys like school drop offs. In first 3 years under warranty , Landrover assistance had to be called on 5 to 6 occasions with one issue or the other, but in the last 6 months it has been back 5 times to do with 4 by 4 becoming, 2 wheel drive, failure of DPF filter, failure of EGR Valve, Oil filter change twice and now has a defecive Oxygen sensor.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

HSE Luxury

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

30
Review
Great to look at, well-designed and a wealth of extras which I paid through the nose for, even as a used car. We live in the Tyne valley and last year's winter and the inevitable snow stopped all our neighbours (aside from one F-pace owner and our Land Rover Discovery Sport) getting to the top of the hill and to the cleared main road. So this is an unstoppable motor BUT on a recent long run from Newcastle to Plymouth I found it the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. I was in agony when I got to my destination. Also the gearbox (automatic) is sometimes hesitant to pull away from a junction and in crawling traffic on motorways it seems indecisive as to what gear it should be in. I’ve since sold it, shouldering the financial loss and bought another car from a different manufacturer.
Reliability

5 out of 5

No real problems but it was only two years old when I got rid of it
Performance

3 out of 5

Acceptable for a large SUV
Running Cost

3 out of 5

On a run, 44mpg tops. It's heavy on the diesel around town

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

SE Tech 150

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

41
Review
I lease this car and for the first nine months it was absolutely fine. However, since then numerous faults, mainly electrical, have occurred, including one repetitive fault that was very serious. On four separate occasions the engine lost power and went into ‘limp home mode’. Unfortunately on 3 of the occasions I was driving at motorway speeds and overtaking, and scary doesn’t cover it. The car was taken to the dealer each time and they returned it to me with the fault code cleared and ‘no fault found’. After the fourth engine failure, I refused to drive the car and had it taken to another garage with more highly qualified technicians. Guess what? Within a week they had found and fixed the problem (a new ECU required).
Reliability

2 out of 5

I need a reliable car for work and drive approx. 28k miles per annum. Not good enough.
Performance

3 out of 5

Not bad, but on reflection the 180 model would have been a better choice.
Running Cost

3 out of 5

Slightly disappointing fuel consumption

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

2017 5dr 2.0l diesel

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

31
Review
Beautiful car and very practical except for the boot cover which can't be kept in car if removed. There is more cabin noise than I would have expected from a premium vehicle. It has already been in garage twice in the last 6 months for repairs, and the start stop technology generally does not work. The drive is good, but its reliability and unimpressive touchscreen infotainment system with rather average radio sound quality let it down. I thought this would be my long term car but now may need to sell by end of its 3 year warranty

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

2.2 7 SEATER

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

35
Review
I've had a few minor niggles, and one large annoying one. The wiring loom connector hidden up underneath the wheel arch trim was not sealed off properly, and caused about 20 warnings to light up on the dash. The b pillar had a vibration caused by the inner plastic air bag cover, a gentle tap every now and then stops this. All in all , it has its niggles, but is a great tow vehicle. I have also noted that better fuel economy is achieved by not selecting eco mode; and pull away times are better without it. I've only just had to change the first set of tyres at 32000 miles – very impressive for this size of vehicle.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

2.0-litre Diesel 180 SE Tech

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

34
Review
I love the package as a whole, it's great to drive and has loads of space. Poor fuel consumption is a disappointment, as are the major faults with diesel particulate filter and and emissions control equipment, which have meant it spent weeks off the road over in several instances. JLR wants to be a premium brand but is anything but.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

HSE Luxury

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

35
Review
Drives and steers well and I like the 180bhp Ingenuum engine. The seats less comfortable than the Disco 3 and Freelander - a bit hard. My main gripes are ongoing niggling electrical faults. Parking sensors failed; sat-nav shuts down and goes to blank screen, adblue metering flagged up a fault, so had to bring out Land Rover assistance and more. The Land Rover electrics are a weak spot and disappointing in such an expensive premium vehicle. Mechanically, everything's been OK - touch wood. The garage back up has been good which is a plus. Would I buy another - I doubt it! I need better reliability.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

7 seater automatic

Year of registration

171

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used
Review
I'm so disappointed with lots of things going wrong particularly the heated screen not working. There's water in the lights, a constant burning smell, water under floor mat on the driver's side. I constantly have to top the Ad-blue up and receive poor service from the garage. Parts come off the interior of the car, with various attachments just coming apart. I hate this car, I'm so disappointed.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

2015

Year of registration

2015

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New
Review
The most unreliable car I've had. I made huge mistake for not looking at reviews here that could have helped me. The engineers who designed this model are probably students, as this car is full of problems and it costs everyone a fortune. More importantly, the reputation of Land Rover has been badly damaged and this needs to be resolved.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Diesel

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

40
Review
I've owned the car from new and I've had reliability issues. At 8000 miles, the car needed to have the balance shaft bearings replaced, under warranty. It's a big job that involves stripping the engine down. 4000 miles, the problem came back. Land Rover said it was a common fault on the Discovery Sports. I think they're going to replace the engine.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

2-litre ingenium hse

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

41
Review
Apart from a known problem with rear brake disc, dealer sorted it after bit of ushering, this car has been magnificent. No problems. Unbelievable towing performance. Great round town country roads or motorway. 40+ miles per gallon. So quiet and smooth. Capable off-road far more than you would have thought. I tow a caravan and have lots of grandkids to seat. I test drove most of the alternatives and they were not on same planet. It has lost very little money unlike its rivals, so the extra money it cost was a far better investment. If you want a proper SUV and not a car with a bigger body, pay the extra. 1. It will cost you less in little time. 2. You will have simply the best. 3. It's British-built.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Perfect.
Performance

5 out of 5

Fast, quiet, great for towing, so easy to drive.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Amazing for a seven-seater four-wheel drive.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

HSE 4WD 2.0 Ingenium Diesel

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

38
Review
I’ve had a Discovery Sport for over 2 years. During that time I’ve driven down to Switzerland and back through Germany, the following year it went over the Swiss Alps into Italy. Each trip was about 3,000 miles and the Discovery sport was comfortable, great to drive and faultless. Around town it’s easy to drive with great visibility, although I have to say quite thirsty as you would expect from a real 4x4. Last winter it was great in the snow, going round vehicles which you would have expected not to struggle. The only faults have been a heat shield that came loose and a few minor rattles that needed to be resolved but I would definitely recommend one. It's an attractive car, especially in a dark metallic colour with light grey leather.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

2.0d Ingenium 180 HSE Luxury

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

38
Review
This could be a great car. But it isn't. Mechanically, it's been fine, but the electronic issues, rattles from the B pillar, and the fact that it is only used for Motorway hauls yet still needs an oil change every 6,000 miles mean that it is not a viable long-term ownership prospect, unlike my Freelander which I fortunately kept hold of. Whilst JLR have acknowledged that there is a design fault and are meeting the cost of the oil changes during the warranty period, the residuals will fall through the floor after 3 years as the secret is now out in the public domain, and no-one in their right mind will want to buy one after its warranty has expired. Whilst a good looking car, I have no faith in it whatsoever and will not keep it beyond its warranty period. Particularly given the appalling, shoddy, disinterested aftersales and dealership support. They don't know how to fix these vehicles, it's all trial and error, and in their own time, which can be weeks!

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

HSE dynamic

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
I read the other comments and share the frustration of owning a Land Rover Discovery Sport. Mine is never out of the workshop. One year has past and it’s in every couple of months. General build quality is not good, more rattles you do expect from a premium brand and it drives me crazy. The bootlid is out of alignment and there have been air con issues, but the worst is as others say the oil dilution issue that Landrover customer care fob you off with ridiculous email replies. The Adblu top-up intervals I have no issue with as 6000 miles between top ups is similar to my wife’s Audi A6 but she can add it herself through the well designed top up reservoir next to the fuel tank. However Land Rover in their wisdom have made it a pressurised top up in the engine bay that requires you to book it into a dealer. All this takes away from any joy I have from the car. I will not buy another LR.
Reliability

3 out of 5

It starts each day but is never out of the dealership with quilty of build, adblue or oil changes due to oil dilution issue
Performance

3 out of 5

Standard
Running Cost

2 out of 5

Over the top and unnecessary compared to equivalent SUVs you can buy

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

SE Tech

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

32
Review
For nearly two years this car has been great for ferrying our young family around on short trips and long. The boot has swallowed up everything and rer and front seats have plenty of room so everyone is comfortable. The miles get chewed up on the motorway and the engine is punchy enough around the A roads to keep you happy. The family love it and it's been a great purchase, there are some areas that could make it a brilliant car. Firstly, the Sat Nav is close to hopeless. It's very slow, the graphics don't make the instructions clear and we have little trust in it to deal with delays and detours. Secondly, the Start/Stop system runs out of charge if you've not being doing enough long haul to keep the battery powered up. I've practically given up on this now and was shocked when it started working recently again but this was after a 700mile trip. Thirdly, the parking sensors are slow to respond. My last car was a BMW and it had razor sharp sensors. (I wouldn't have a BMW again though but I would have a JLR). These gripes aside, I like that it's a nimble drive with bags of grip - it's easy to use around town and motorway. Doesn't feel big even in London and very comfortable. I love the front heated wind screen – no more scraping in winter. It's spacious and versatile, too - never let us down on what we've needed it for. It also looks great for a car of this type.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

diesel

Year of registration

2017

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

45
Review
The car is very nice accept for the problems related to oil dilution. This only effects the 2017 onward engine. The DPF does not get hot enough during its regular regeneration, which means it does not fully clear the filter. This means it has to repeat the process again and again, which causes diesel to enter the oil sump and means an oil change is needed every 4000 miles –not every 21,000 as stated by Land Rover. I've had to pay £240 for this every 12 weeks. Land rover know all about this but their customer service is appalling. I believe that the Evoque has got the same issue with the new ingenium engine, and the petrol version is the only model to consider. Shame as I like the car and was excellent in the snow
Running Cost

1 out of 5

Get yourself an oil well and a bank loan.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

SE Tech (150 )

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

41
Review
Generally I have not had many problems with this car and it offers a very good driving experience in my opinion. However, had I not taken the 5 year service pack, it would be costing a fortune to run. It has had two oil changes and has not yet reached 10,000 miles. It has also had two Adblue top ups. The dealer informed me that they were doing 3 - 4 oil changes on vehicles fitted with the Ingenium diesel engine due to the DPF doing too many regenerations. I tried to take this up with Landrover but they fobbed me off with rubbish about amount of short trips etc despite doing several long distance trips a week. They were not interested in any of the information I told them which negated their attempts to take the blame away from the new engine. I also had the rear discs and pads changed under warranty as discs were scored. They fitted more expensive pads which has rectified the situation. This is my first Landrover purchase and think it will be my last to be honest.
Reliability

4 out of 5

Apart from 5 trips back to dealer for engine oil/Adblue, no problems with reliability so far.
Performance
Plenty of power in 150 bhp model I have for my needs.
Running Cost

4 out of 5

If you have to change oil as often as I have had to do so, then costs will be horrendous. Buying from new means 5 service pack a must.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Deisil 180bhp

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

37
Review
Sadly my car fell victim to the b pillar tick that affects so many other owners. This issue has been prevelant on the DS for over two years and Landrover will not even say when this issue will be fixed in production. They are leaving customers to fight for rejection through dealers. Their own technical bulletin admits this issue affects 2015 onwards with no end date or end vin published. Even when you get a replacement vehicle it could happen again. Lovely car but has a major defect that has a safety issue can strike at any time! Who in their right mind welds b pillars after production ?? The welding fix does not even work .
Reliability

1 out of 5

If not for the b pillar welding issue I would say average.
Performance
Good in the 180bhp
Running Cost

3 out of 5

37

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

SE Tech

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
Good things. Engine. Handling and roadholding. Build quality. Interior. 7 seat option. Comfort. Lots of leg room in second row. Styling and presence. Capability. Dealer. Average things. Satnav (Needs careful route planning to get a good route and still not as good as a £100 tomtom). Auto gearbox. It's been set up for the emissions rules (intriguingly I met an LR development engineer who said it was much better with a 6 speed auto). Road noise. Mine (an ex-demonstrater) came with 20 inch wheels which are noisy. Stick to the standard 18's. Ride. Very good on motorways a bit stiff round town. Display screen a bit slow. Poor things. Fuel tank too small. No stowage for load bay cover when third row seats are raised. Would I buy one again? Yes, and I probably will. Oh and we'll use it for touring as well as commuting.
Reliability
No data yet.
Performance

5 out of 5

Surprisingly spritely.
Running Cost

4 out of 5

Average fuel consumption.

Most Popular

BMW X5 xDrive45e hybrid SUV review
BMW X5 xDrive45e hybrid SUV
16 Nov 2020

BMW X5 xDrive45e hybrid SUV review

Updated 2020 Audi SQ2 now available to order
Audi SQ2 SUV
17 Nov 2020

Updated 2020 Audi SQ2 now available to order

Ford Kuga Hybrid joins range as third electrified Kuga
Ford Kuga
17 Nov 2020

Ford Kuga Hybrid joins range as third electrified Kuga