Nissan Juke SUV (2010-2019): owner reviews

“Dramatic styling means the Nissan Juke still looks fresh, despite its advancing years. Poor running costs give its age away, though”

Carbuyer Rating

2.8 out of 5

Owners Rating

3.5 out of 5

Price
£17,190 - £26,565
68%of people would recommend this car to a friend.

Owner Rating

  • 5reviews
  • 10reviews
  • 3reviews
  • 2reviews
  • 2reviews

Common Problems

  • Engine, Gearbox / clutch (1 cases)
  • Gearbox / clutch (2 cases)
  • Other (2 cases)
  • Electrics (1 cases)
  • Electrics, Gearbox / clutch (1 cases)
  • Engine, Other (3 cases)
  • Engine (1 cases)
  • Brakes, Engine, Gearbox / clutch (1 cases)

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Accenta

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

45
Review
I traded in my three year old petrol Juke after a a bad run of timing belt issues, battery failure and then the need for an engine replacement at 30,000 miles. I bought the 1.5-litre diesel Juke instead as I was told it would suit my type of driving and mileage, it was a 2015 reg with 14,000 miles on the clock. I have had it for 6 months and in that time I have had the RAC out three times. The first time it needed a new gearbox, second time a new clutch and it is currently with the main dealer again with further clutch issues. I will never buy another Nissan again and will look to change as soon as possible. It has been three years of complete stress, aggravation and cost. Not what you expect from a Nissan at all. So disappointed.
Reliability

1 out of 5

Terrible, I've spent more time in hire cars and courtesy cars than in my own Nissan Juke.
Performance

2 out of 5

This is difficult as neither performed at all well really. I like the comfort and height of the car on long drives but it's a little sluggish overall.
Running Cost

3 out of 5

The diesel has been good but the petrol version was really costly in oil and fuel.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Acenta Premium CVT

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

38.7
Review
I bought this automatic Juke in July 2014 as a nearly new car, with 2,000 miles on the clock. I loved the exterior design of the Juke and was impressed by its interior system panel which includes touchscreen sat nav and media system, AC & heating system, options to drive it in three modes ; normal, sports as well as economy mode. Dashboard displaying the meters and fuel indicator was more than satisfactory as well. The only negatives at the time I identified was rear passenger space for kids to be limited and the boot space also not satisfactory to family needs. Also to my astonishment it didn't come with a spare car wheel option ! It ran smoothly from july 2014 right upto July 2018 until I came across rattling/ grinding noises from underneath the car. Then, after start-up, it refused to drive after I released the handbrake: warning lights came on. I retried the process and the car ran as normal but rattling noises remained. I had it checked by a local garage who thought it might have been a bearing collapsing in the automatic gearbox transmission. I did some independent research online and found that automatic transmission gearbox issues have been widely reported by Juke owners at around around 30,000 miles. To my shock that is exactly the case with mine as I had done 31,000 miles when I first experienced this issue two months ago. As it stands right now that car has finally failed to startup last week Saturday (08/09/18). RAC Breakdown assistance have identified a gearbox issue which seems common with this model. The cost of repair according to RAC from a specialist transmissions service centre is approx £2,000. I spoken to Nissan and they have asked for it to be towed over to their local dealership store where it can be assessed by their service centre ( which will cost me !) and then they will be in position to tell me what gesture of goodwill compensation they can offer me. I am stuck as this car is not driveable as of now and I am suffering great inconvenience. A car 5 years and 6 months old from march 2013 should suffer automatic gearbox failure. I have had it in my possession for only 4 years and two months to be precise and would not recommend this car to anyone.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Tekna 1.6diesel

Year of registration

2014

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

50
Review
Had this car for nearly two years now. NOTHING has gone wrong , power very good when over taking & climbing Hill's. I find the cabin quite spacious & well equipped. Yes I agree the petrol engines are very poor. Highly recommend the diesel.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci

Year of registration

2018

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

55
Review
We have a 1.5dci towards the top of the range (cant remember the exact trim level). We recently managed 575 miles on a single tank of fuel with X2100kg+ people and luggage . We achieved slightly more than 60mpg with mainly motorway driving but also a mix of city stop start driving and country roads with hills etc.
Reliability

5 out of 5

100 % reliable.
Performance

3 out of 5

Reasonable in sport mode
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Cheap

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5dci Tekna

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

68
Review
Very good car. There's loads of extras on my Tekna. I find the seat very comfortable even though I only drive long distances, hence choosing the diesel after having a three cylinder petrol previously. When driving I use the sports mode and cruise control, I have seen 74 mpg (or so the computer says...).
Reliability
New alloy wheels old got ones pitted, I only had problems with three of them.
Performance

5 out of 5

I use sport mode and find it very responsive for a diesel
Running Cost

4 out of 5

I find main dealer service expensive – we use an independent vat registered specialist as it's 1/3 cheaper

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci diesel

Year of registration

2013

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New
Review
love my juke. its comfortable. love the spec. the boot is a fine size. going from a KA. all of it. love it

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

1.2 DIG-T

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

25.7
Review
Whilst I love my Juke, and its funky image, I must admit it's a mixed bag when it comes to customer satisfaction. The interior on the top two trims is just about 'acceptable' and space-wise will suit a couple, or maybe a small family with two small kids (max). It's fun to drive, responsive and has great visibility out front. The increased boot space with split floor is excellent. But do yourself a favour and upgrade to the optional sunroof. It helps to brighten the cabin which is otherwise dark and gloomy. And also go for the Safety Shield Pack if you're on a lower trim model, as rear visibility isn't great. The one major flaw I have with my Juke is fuel economy. This 1.2 engine is terrible. I've never got above 27mpg. Shockingly poor. Wish I'd stuck with Nissan's 1.5 diesel. Had that in my new Qashqai. And it was very economical and frugal. It was just a tad too 'noisy' for my liking, in the little Juke when I went for my test drive.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dCI N-Tec

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

More than 20,000

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

59
Review
It's fun to drive, very responsive and comfortable. I recommend.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

1.6 Auto

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

35
Review
I find this car ok to drive, but I find it low on power on the hills. I have problems with the electrics and gearbox and have had these since new. But try to get things remedied and Nissan doesn't want to know. They say they will get back to you and never do. I would never buy another Nissan cause of the way i have been treated.

Owner Review

3 out of 5

Version

1.2 dig-t acenta premium

Year of registration

2014

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

37
Review
Overall I love this car, but its not spacious as it looks from outside. The 1.2-litre engine is fine for city and motorways, there is some turbo lag but if you drive it on normal settings you won't notice it much. The clutch and gear shifts are bit hard compared to my old car, though. The forward visibility is great, I like that I sit a bit higher from the road. However, the rear visibility is terrible and the reversing camera is a must. In regards to entertainment features, I think its better value than other brands. The sat nav is pretty basic but it does the job. Now onto some serious problems. due to which i have rated it 3 stars Engine My car model so am told was one of the early batches . It has a problem where it uses excessive engine oil. Soo much so that the engine was finally replaced at 20000 miles. You wouldn't expect that from a new car. Start Stop 3rd year in running the Start stop gave up its due to go to dealer soon for it to be fixed. I am soo glad its still under warranty. Rear passenger space It's pretty cramped. Headroom is sufficient leg room is bad. It's not much suitable for car seats or long journeys at the back. Boot space Again as i have growing family i find the boot to be bit small . At 27000 miles have to replace front tyres . brakes and discs can still last approximately 20000 miles more which i think its pretty decent. Will i consider buying a second hand juke? No especially if its 1.2 engine and if the car is not under warranty.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.2 DIG-T

Year of registration

152

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

55
Review
The Nissan Juke is the perfect family car. If you are looking for a reliable and practical car that has good fuel consumption, this is the car for you. When I first saw the Nissan Juke I was, like most people, impressed by its beautiful looks. It really looks like an upmarket 4x4. Inside it has nice simple to use buttons and the leather stearing wheel and gearstick are a great bonus which come with even the most basic models. The metallic paint on the outside is beautiful looking also. The boot has been improved and is now a very reasonable size for any family. Going over bumps in the city is great in the Juke as you can drive over them easily. Another great aspect to the Juke is that the visability in the car is amazing - unbeatable by any normal hatchback which makes parking and seeing over traffic much easier. The LED running lights on the front of the car make it stand out and it is very easy to drive. I normally buy a new car ever year but I've decided to stick with the Juke as it feels like a strong car that could last me many many years.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

1.2 HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED

Year of registration

2015

Bought Car

Used
Review
Just traded my Juke in today, had a 1.6 diesel, was brilliant, did what I wanted and when I put my foot down at the top end, it could still pick up... This 1.2 couldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding, you put your foot down and there is nothing there, everywhere you look all the information is telling you they have somehow managed to take hundreds of cc's out of the engine and then make it even more powerful, don't be taken in like I have been, I had a diesel and now I have what is supposed to be a "turbo" of some description in petrol and it's massively inferior, not only that I can actually see the petrol meter going down, so I now have a slower car that is burning more fuel. I am going to try and get out of my deal. On the plus side, yep still looks great, but we knew that I actually need to drive it though.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.6 Tekna CVT

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

2 - 3 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

36
Review
Had the Juke Tekna 1.6 petrol for almost 3 years (since new) and have to say that it's a darned good motor... even with the CVT gearbox. It has plenty of extra's fit (heated leather seats, sat nav, climate control etc etc) where as with other makes you have to pay well over the odds for such fitments. It gives around the 36 mpg for local short runs and well over 50 on a run. The only grumble about the car is the radio which can be a bit of a nuisance at times -signal drops intermittently but I can live with that. Looking forward to the updated version which is to be released in early 2020.
Reliability

5 out of 5

Reliability is 2nd to none.
Performance

5 out of 5

Does everything that is required, cruises well and can move when needed to.
Running Cost

5 out of 5

No disappointment here, gets around mid 30's around town & over 50 on a run. Good returns for an automatic.

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.6 Visia

Year of registration

2011

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

More than 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

40
Review
Apart from the clutch having to be replaced at 25,000 miles, my Nissan Juke has been a pleasure to own and drive. It is nippy, comfortable, and the height of the seats makes visibility great. I will be buying another one in a couple of years.

Owner Review

2 out of 5

Version

1.2 dig-t Tekna

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

33
Review
Good value in terms of spec for money but overall the car is not built to a good quality, particularly the plastic trims and finishing everywhere. I have owned mine for just over six months and when buying it i noticed there was a faint creaking/rattle from the dash area. On returning the vehicle to Nissan the job sheet had written in bold writing "Sales are not paying for - if no manufacturers fault customer to pay full amount" - this was my first dealing with Nissan after purchasing the car from them. So they fixed that issue (supposedly anyway). I report the car is still making a rattling sound (generally on cold start ups and for the first 10 minutes of driving) They take the car back and later tell me it's done. It was a lot better - but there was still a faint rattle from the dash still but as the service manager told me "they're not meant to be silent" - my response was that of "yes, but i am almost certain this noise is not a normal one" A week passes. A new rattle - more of a metallic resonating rattle on acceleration - My thoughts were this wasn't a good sound. My thoughts were confirmed - there was a timing chain problem and it required replacing. The car has done 5,000 miles since i've owned it. I took the car in for its Timing chain to be replaced and have advised them that they need to keep the car until they are satisfied all issues are resolved to the manufacturers standards and if not i'll drop back the keys and they can refund me my money. The petrol engine also seems very inefficient, and I wouldn't recommend it.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.5 dci tekna

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

55
Review
This is a little gem. A little snug I'm 5"11 (15stone ) but mpg is great. Boot is ok and seats are comfortable, trimmed in leather (heated ) can't believe such a low review score. Never mind this little Juke is great. "Drive one let fun begin".
Reliability

5 out of 5

No problems at all
Performance

5 out of 5

It's nippy Holds the road quite well
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Very low

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

1.6 Auto Accenta Premium

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

32
Review
Went from a similarly powered Nissan Cube automatic to my Juke automatic. I've always liked the quirky look of the Juke and was sold on the test drive which was conducted over a short distance. I was always fully aware of the cramped interior which makes it difficult to carry four adults in comfort but after driving it for some months I've now come to appreciate other deficiencies. Overall build quality is poor on many levels and certainly incomparable to the quality of the Japanese built Cube. The 1.6 engine is very noisy and roars away to get up to motorway speed. In summary, I think it's practical for local driving but uncomfortable beyond that. I don't go too far these days but to get anywhere around London you have to use one of the motorways. I am already thinking of trading in the car.
Reliability
It's a new car so should be reliable.
Performance

1 out of 5

Below average
Running Cost

3 out of 5

Average

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

1.6 Diesel Acenta Premium

Year of registration

2015

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

55
Review
Very good! Diesel is smooth and sounds great. Great styling. Plenty of room.

Owner Review

1 out of 5

Version

Accenta premium

Year of registration

2014

Average annual mileage

5,000 – 9,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

49
Review
A terrible car. At less than 3 years old and 30k miles mine needs a new clutch, brake discs and pads, has already had new battery, steering bush and attention to a stop start fault. The diesel engine sounds like a tractor. The interior rattles a lot. Very cheap plastic. Although I had the wheel alignment checked, it still pulls to one side. Whats really bad is Nissan's customer service. They just dont care at all. Everything to them Is wear and tear. It seems Nissan doesn't expect the Juke to last past 30k miles.

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

Sport

Year of registration

2011

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

1 - 2 years

Bought Car

New

Typical MPG

50
Review
Cannot recommend this enough, lovely car, not cramped, great to drive and Nissan service is brilliant!
Reliability

5 out of 5

Perfect
Running Cost
As expected

Owner Review

5 out of 5

Version

N Connecta 1.2 DIG Petrol

Year of registration

2016

Average annual mileage

0 – 4,999

Owned

Less than a year

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

50
Review
I first drove the 1.5 diesel while on holiday in Ireland and it was the highlight of my trip as it was so lovely to drive and Nippy once in 2nd gear. I was used to driving a low sports car so this was a big change for me. So much so that when I cam back to the UK I went straight the Dealer and ordered an New One. They recommended that I go for a petrol engine as I do lots of short journeys so I chose the 1.2 and cant believe how fast it goes. I don't have young children anymore as they have all grown up and have cars of their own so Its just me and maybe a passenger so it is plenty big enough for what I need. I've recently come back from a trip up north Yorks and spent a week driving around the Moors and Motorway Journey to get there and it managed to get up some very steep hills and was a breeze on the A1. My friend plugged her iphone in to charge it and this music started to play from her ipod and it was like we were in a nightclub. The sound was amazing!! The only fault with mine is the 2nd gear isn't that smooth to change, but apart from that I love my Jukey :)
Reliability

5 out of 5

So far so good
Performance

5 out of 5

Great speed for a small engine. Its faster than my previous sports car
Running Cost

5 out of 5

Excellent on fuel for urban driving

Owner Review

4 out of 5

Version

1.6 Accenta Premium

Year of registration

2011

Average annual mileage

10,000 – 14,999

Owned

3 - 5 years

Bought Car

Used

Typical MPG

37
Review
Owned for 5 years since new.Good urban car ,handles city streets ,potholes and speed bumps with ease. This is an early car so the gearbox is notchy and low geared so not great on motorway,but most of my driving is local so not a big issue . The compromise with the design and interior space is well documented but car has been a good servant.By removing the boot floor and packing carefully can carry family and enough luggage for 2Adults+2 kids to airport for a weeks holiday.Well equipped to the point it's a worry how much my next car might cost with similar spec -Sat Nav ,Climate , Bluetooth and reversing camera.Problems over 5 years being a small bit of door handle trim fell off -fixed under warranty ,some leaf debris made the heater blower fan noisy- which fixed itself and battery failed at 4 years-replaced it myself.Otherwise car is still on original brake discs and has been cheap to run and service and is effectively problem free.
Reliability

5 out of 5

VERY reliable
Performance

3 out of 5

Nippy but low gearing makes for poor motorway cruising.Newer cars have better gear ratios.
Running Cost
Fuel economy fair but servicing reasonable.

Recommended

Top 10 best used small SUVs 2021
Ford Puma SUV
Ford Puma
26 Jul 2021

Top 10 best used small SUVs 2021

Nissan Juke SUV review
Nissan Juke SUV
Nissan Juke
12 Apr 2021

Nissan Juke SUV review

Most Popular

What is AdBlue?
What is adblue?
Tips and advice
18 Oct 2021

What is AdBlue?

Top 10 best hybrid cars 2021
Hyundai Tucson SUV review
Best cars
22 Oct 2021

Top 10 best hybrid cars 2021

Top 10 best company cars 2021
Hyundai Ioniq 5 front 3/4 cornering
Best cars
14 Oct 2021

Top 10 best company cars 2021

Tips & advice

View All
Car dashboard warning lights: the complete guide
Car dashboard symbols and meanings
Tips and advice
10 Aug 2021

Car dashboard warning lights: the complete guide

Electric car charging stations: a complete guide
Electric car charging station
Tips and advice
3 Jun 2021

Electric car charging stations: a complete guide

PCP vs HP – which type of car finance is right for you?
PCP vs HP
Tips and advice
29 Sep 2021

PCP vs HP – which type of car finance is right for you?

Average speed cameras: how do they work?
Average speed cameras: how do they work?
Tips and advice
23 Jul 2021

Average speed cameras: how do they work?

Best cars

View All
Top 10 best car interiors 2021
Peugeot 208 hatchback
Best cars
25 Jun 2021

Top 10 best car interiors 2021

Top 10 best electric cars 2021
Ioniq 5
Best cars
20 Oct 2021

Top 10 best electric cars 2021

Top 10 best cheap-to-run cars 2021
Toyota Prius front 3/4 cornering
Best cars
10 Jun 2021

Top 10 best cheap-to-run cars 2021

The UK's top 10 fastest hot hatchbacks
Mercedes AMG A45 - rear
Hot hatches
25 Jun 2021

The UK's top 10 fastest hot hatchbacks